Sauteed Sweet Plantains (Tajaditas Dulces de Platano) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I took the advice of some others and mixed the sugar and salt into the melted butter (I used only butter), then I fried them over medium heat. Because so many people mentioned that these were sticking to paper towels, I sprayed a cooling rack with non-stick spray and placed that over paper towels and I let the plantains drip. I had no problems with sticking, and these were delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA
Living In: Poulsbo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
These were delish! Very sweet thou. I waited for my plantain to become ripe (just on black) and now wish I hadn't. It was so ripe as to melt the sugar I sprinkled on immediately. Next time I will try another reviewers idea of adding salt to the sugar. I drained on paper towels but if not removed as quickly as possible the carmelized sugar bonds to the paper. Hint... This morning there was one last little piece left and I popped it into my mouth - yech... cold is not the way to eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I've been making this since I was a kid, a very simple yet delicious side dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Great for dinner and an afternoon snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
it was good!! i would have put an additional tablespoon of brown sugar and i used someone's suggestion of sprinkling plantains with cinnamon right before you take it off the heat. the paper towel stuck to the plantains, but other than that, it was a piece of cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy Davis-Daye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Photo by JPMJ
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I omit the peanut oil, and just fry the plantains in the butter, with the sugar sprinkled directly into the butter in the pan. A great dessert when served with vanilla bean ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This is a great recipe and I received many compliments after serving it for an outdoor summer party. The key to this recipe is that the plantains have to be VERY ripe, almost black, otherwise they are not very sweet and considerably more like a potato in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
i have no idea what i did wrong but these did NOT turn out like i expected. i didnt over cook them and they smell and look burnt, there sticking to EVERYTHING. not going to be trying these again.. there goes my desire to try new things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
These are some of my favorite things to eat. However, I learned to make them without the sugar and would eat them for breakfast (or lunch, or dinner, or for a snack) cut into a bowl of rice. CANNOT wait to try them with the brown sugar!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desert Daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Superb Sauteed Mushrooms

Mushrooms sauteed with red wine, teriyaki sauce and garlic.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States