Sauteed Rice with Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
i've made this recipe several times now. I absolutely love it and is a big hit in our house. The first time I made this, I followed the directions to a "T". Since then, I have altered a few things. I made this for a side dish this evening and I added more Kale. Instead of 2 cloves of garlic I used a whole bulb of it since I love garlic and it never seems to be too much. I didn't have mushrooms or green peppers although I had the little sweet peppers and I used approximately 20 of them since I had a good bit on hand. I also added another stalk of celery. I felt that one stalk wasn't enough. Thank You BramptonMommyof2 for submitting this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kempner, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I used quinoa because I did not have enough rice and put in extra kale as some others suggested. It turned out great! My husband commented that the dish tasted like it had wasabi in it. I assume it was because of the dried mustard. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
added kielbasa for complete meal. Everyone loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by m&m

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Great as a side dish, or even as a vegan lunch. I stuck to the recipe for the most part, but I only had frozen kale and no celery, green pepper, etc. I sauteed the onions, garlic and thawed kale, and steamed the white rice separately. After everything was done, I scooped the cooked veggies atop the one cup of the rice and enjoyed the meal. Also, the current spices listed is a bit bland. I added some Tabasco sauce, Jamaican curry powder, MSG-free seasoning salt and a couple of bay leaves. I'm half Liberian and half Southern. I want my food to have flavor, girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by journalofanebaysocialite

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I tried the recipe for dinner tonight. It was awesome. I made a few minor adjustments. I added a little curry powder, chopped chicken breasts and chicken broth so that is was not so dry. I used brown rice in the place of white rice. It was delicious and filling. I will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
First time making kale, my whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Wonderful, simple dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Very tasty,and healthy. I omitted the mushrooms the first time I made it (had none). The second time, I made it with mushrooms. I think it tasted better without the mushrooms. So I made it a third time with more kale (to substitute for the loss of mushrooms. The reasult was the best of the three. Well, at least in my opinion.... =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Very tasty way to get your veggies! I doubled the recipe and it was enough to feed 8-10 as a good size side dish. I actually used two boil in bags of brown rice which is more than double the rice but we liked it. I cooked the kale with the other veggies in a large deep pan instead of steaming it. I put a lid on it for the first 5 minutes until the kale reduced, making it easier to mix the veggies. We also added a little extra cayenne and slivered almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Great recipe... though I halved the rice, altering the rice to veggie ratio. I also and used brown rice. I will make this again since I love kale, and yet am getting tired of preparing kale in the same old ways. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leo Walsh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States