Sauteed Portobellos and Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2007
This was sooo good. I held back a star only because I made a few critical changes to the recipe that affected the flavor in the positive. First, I didn't use basil. I really didn't think it was a flavor combo that my family would appreciate. Also, since we don't like wine (not even for cooking), I used 1 tablespoon of balsamic vinegar and 1 tablespoon of beef broth. I also added an extra clove of garlic (of course). The result was a fantastic side to our main dish and will definitely be added to our rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
Absolutely delicious! After reading others' reviews, I made a few changes: I used 2 bags of fresh baby spinach instead of frozen, 1/2 tsp each basil and pepper, and 2 cloves garlic. I also used white rather than red wine (personal preference!). This is an elegant, easy side dish, but it does need to go straight from the stove to the table. Fortunately it only takes a few minutes to make, so I cook it just before the other dishes are done. Thanks Leslie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
LOVE spinach. LOVE portobello mushrooms. Did not like this dish. I used fresh spinach and it looked beautiful, but both the basil and the red wine gave it an unpleasant taste. I hate to waste food, so I reluctantly ate my portion--hubby could not do the same...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2002
This was an outstanding saute! I was serving 5 hearty eaters... so here are the adjustments I made: 4 total tablespoons of butter (next time I am going to try olive oil) 3 large garlic cloves a bunch of chopped green onions 3 total portabellos double all of the spices and cheese used fresh spinach Everyone raved about this recipe... it was the first dish to empty on the table! Very hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMB146

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This was *EXCELLENT!* I'm not one for mushy spinach so I changed the order a bit and used fresh baby spinach but I omitted the basil. I also used a tablespoon of Gourmet Garden garlic (already crushed so you don't have to!) instead of just one clove. I cooked the mushrooms on medium heat in the garlic butter for appx. 10 minutes (until they were very brown). Then I added the wine and appx. 10 sec later (mushrooms are like sponges and sop up the liquid quickly) I tossed appx. three mittfuls of baby spinach into the pan. I lightly tossed the spinach with the mushrooms until the leaves *just began* to wilt. Once they reduced by half, I served the portions onto the plates right away. Cracked pepper and parm cheese is the perfect je ne sais quoi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I tell you, if I could give this recipe 10 stars I would. It tasted look something I would expect to be served in a fine restaurant. It is unbelievably easy to prepare, and the flavors are magnificent. My husband loves spinach and so he was extremely happy with the perfect blend of flavors that did not overpower the spinach flavor at all, and when my 22-month-old daughter ate hers (usually like pulling teeth to get her to eat anything green) I knew it was a hit. This will be prepared at least twice a month at my house. ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
Very different dish, never would have thought to mix spinach w/mushrooms. I did, however, modified the recipe. I used 6 cloves of garlic and 1/8 cup of Parmesan cheese. Also, I suggest omitting the salt as you really don't need it unless you prefer a strong salty taste. Thanks Leslie for a wonderful side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I loved this recipe. Easy and delicious. One change I made: because I had no wine on hand, I used lemon juice instead, and it was lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This is a favorite side dish of ours whenever we have a steak dinner. I've used either red or white wine, depending on what I have on hand. I've also made this with both fresh and frozen spinach, again depending on what's in the frig. The only change I usually make is to omit the basil, just because it doesn't really seem to add anything to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
So delicious!! I followed the recipe exactly except I did use 2 bunches of fresh spinach. I made this last night and my husband has already asked when I am making it again. The same husband that really doesn't like spinach...;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States