Sauteed Portobellos and Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I tell you, if I could give this recipe 10 stars I would. It tasted look something I would expect to be served in a fine restaurant. It is unbelievably easy to prepare, and the flavors are magnificent. My husband loves spinach and so he was extremely happy with the perfect blend of flavors that did not overpower the spinach flavor at all, and when my 22-month-old daughter ate hers (usually like pulling teeth to get her to eat anything green) I knew it was a hit. This will be prepared at least twice a month at my house. ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
So tasty and what a way to get that spinach in. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Nice flavor. Great way to get our greens in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IEATTOFU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coggeshall, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This is a favorite side dish of ours whenever we have a steak dinner. I've used either red or white wine, depending on what I have on hand. I've also made this with both fresh and frozen spinach, again depending on what's in the frig. The only change I usually make is to omit the basil, just because it doesn't really seem to add anything to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Excellent - yum! Very easy and quick. I did use fresh spinach. 1/2 butter and 1/2 olive oil instead of all butter. Had white wine on hand - came out great! Thank you so much - a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This tasted wonderful! I threw my leftovers into a quiche I was making and it worked out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
This is a great side dish for steaks. The next time I make it though, I'm going to use fresh spinach added in the last few minutes of cooking. It was really good with frozen spinach but fresh is always best to me. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fordyce, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Made some pasta with this and it was superb. We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANA BOSKMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
Really good, served with steaks and baked potatoes. I ended up using two tbs more butter to keep it moist, used one tbs balsamic vinegar instead of wine and a bit less parmesan. Next time I think I'll experiment with different cheeses or no cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
This was good. I would have rated it a 4, but my husband loved it and I always round up so a 5 it is. I thought there was too much spinach and wished there was more mushroom...I used 10 oz of portobellos. I followed the recipe exactly except I subbed parsley for basil. Thanks for the yummy side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States