Sauteed Grouse with Peach-Balsamic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
With apologies to MommyFromSeattle, I only made the sauce and not the grouse, but the sauce is excellent! I have not eaten grouse, but I know this would make a superb complement to pheasant. Since I was not using the sauce to cook grouse, I reduced it till it was syrupy, then drizzled it over risotto cakes from another website. I used apricot preserves, but I can't wait to try it with peach--it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I love it! Try this with Chicken breasts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I meant to review this sooner but plain forgot! I went on a hunting trip with my male friend and cooked this recipe with the grouse he shot. First of all we took the meat off the bones and "bled" it to get rid of the game-y taste (just soak in salted water overnight in the fridge). When I cooked this the next night and let him taste a piece before dinner he said "Oh my God that's the best thing I've ever eaten." In other words, we loved this recipe! It compliments the game bird perfectly. I cooked it exactly like it's written, and I honestly can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This was my first time making grouse and it was so good! I took the advice of another reviewer and brined the bird overnight, which may have been why it didn't taste in the least bit gamey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I loved this! Sear the grouse breast quickly then cook it in the sauce, I found 3 minutes on med-high per side made it tough. And I didn't have peach preserves so I used Adriatic Fig Spread and it tasted great with the balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bcorring
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I used this recipe for two Chukar partridge, which are normally pretty well received by my family in any fried or sauteed form. Everyone loved this preparation, so I'll probably be expected to go to achieve this level of flavor and sophistication for future game birds. I did not soak them in buttermilk. I doubled the sauce and simmered the birds, covered, for about 15 minutes after a quick browning. Used apricot preserves and extra garlic, which I reintroduced with the bird pieces. Next time I will probably salt and pepper the partridge before cooking. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcorring

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newcastle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Outstanding. One suggestion...hammer the grouse breasts flat....the bird is dry and this allows for greater sauce surface area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Very good recipe, I made it with pheasant and tweaked the ingredients a little. I added 1/2 cup of peach jam and 1/2 c of chicken stock to yield more sauce. I served it with rice and green beans it was a big hit with the kids. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
We made this sauce to go with quail. We found the tarragon flavor to be rather pronounced and it overpowered the quail. Even though our quail came from a hunt, they were very mild, almost like chicken. Perhaps the tarragon flavor is better suited to birds with a more gamey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I made this for my roommates with a few changes. I used chicken instead of grouse and apricot instead of peach jam. It was so good. Everyone loved it and I will be making it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States