Sauteed Fiddleheads Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Yes, this is a basic recipe that is an excellent introduction to a veggie many people haven't heard of or tried. This was my first time trying these, and I prepped them as described on Health Canada's website (Trim, remove papery husk [if any] and rinse through several changes of water then boil for roughly 8 mins strain and then proceed with recipe.) These cannot be be eaten undercooked or raw otherwise you're putting yourself at risk for food-borne illness. I added some diced onion to this, and think that balsamic vinegar would be a delicious substitute for the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Don't bother boiling the fiddleheads first. They are crispy and delicious sauteed. Try stir frying them with all of your favorite vegetables or in fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This was my first time preparing fiddleheads, and I found this recipe a nice n' easy introduction. I may add a splash of balsamic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MellowDee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
As someone who lives in Maine, I can't wait for the first fiddleheads to appear at the Farmers Market. This was just another wonderful way to cook them. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Bradford

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orono, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Meh. This is just a super-normal, super-common list of ingredients for sauteeing vegetables. It's not bad. . . . but the recipe could give more guidance on how to clean and actually cook the fiddleheads. (Common saute ingredients aside.) So I'll keep looking for a newer or more definitive fiddlehead recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Hampton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I have been using this recipe for over a year now, I love it! I make it exactly as directed. It was the first recipe I ever used for fiddleheads (which I was kind of anxious about cooking right), now I really look forward to them being in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellow_everest

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Have been doing them this way for years, The key is par boiling them until just tender before sauteeing then you can do anything with them. My family loves them this way and if we happen to have some wild leeks( in our search for the fiddleheads - (here in the Northeast springtime)then by all means throw a few of them in as well. This dish definitely says "SPRINGTIME" for us here in New England and it is SOOOOO Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granville, New York, USA
Living In: Rutland, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Delicious. Very fresh tasting! I added just a little butter to my olive oil too. My husband liked them without the lemon juice; I liked it without, but preferred them with the lemon. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This was an easy recipe and we loved it. It was my first time cooking fiddleheads and I'm sure we'll make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States