Sauteed Cherry Tomatoes with Garlic and Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Wonderful side dish that takes so little time to prepare! I used only 1 pint of cherry tomatoes and kept the rest of the ingredients the same. I used a bit of kosher salt and fresh cracked black pepper to season. I love the fresh basil on these. Definitely serve hot off the stove as these cool down quickly. You could add a little shaved Parmesan or feta cheese to this to take it over the top - great with grilled steak or grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
I've made this recipe with fresh basil and dried basil. Dried rates 4 stars, so try your hardest to get fresh! A fast, tasty side to Baby Spinach Omelet. I didn't have any problems with tough grape tomato skins, but I did pierce each with a sharp knife during cooking. Maybe this helped?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Made this for my husband and he really enjoyed eating them this way! I sprinkled a little parmesan cheese over the dish. A great way to serve cherry tomatoes! Thanks! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillyBean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Cook at last moment when preparing dinner so you can get them right to the table when they're ready; they cool quickly and when that happens the texture fails. Great dish, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
These are good- I really enjoyed the flavor sauteeing brought to the tomatoes. I used on-the-vine cherry tomatoes. Just make sure your tomatoes are completely dry before adding to the pan- I guess mine were still a little wet from rinsing and it wasn't pretty. But I just covered the pan to solve that problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Quick, fresh and delicious! I used a bag of grape tomatoes, garlic and fresh minced basil. I added Hawaiian sea salt and fresh ground black pepper while the tomatoes were sauteeing, shaking the pan frequently. In mere minutes they were done. I really like how the sweet juices of the tomatoes bursts in my mouth along with the sauteed garlic and fresh basil. Oooh what a wonderful blend of fresh flavors! The sprinkles of fresh basil over the tomatoes stand out-very pretty. This is a terrific side dish and a good way to use up grape tomatoes. One that I will keep in mind for use again in the future. I served this along with, "Portuguese Pork with Red Peppers," "Lemon-Sesame Asparagus," and "Parsley Red Potatoes," all from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
So good and so quick! Followed the recipe to a T, I don't think there's a need to add or skip anything. Make sure to use fresh basil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
I loved this! The skins were a little bit annoying, but the flavor is just so delicious! I let is sit for a while to cool down, and had it on top of a toasted English muffin. Would be great topped with cheese, and broiled, bruscetta style. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Obviously a subjective thing - I really could take or leave these and much prefer tomatoes uncooked. I don't regret trying something different but once was enough for me. Maybe it's those stewed tomatoes Mom served us as kids....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Add some grated parmesean cheese just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States