Sauteed Carrots and Leeks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Yummy! Thanks for sharing this tasty way to prepare leeks. I was looking for a use besides soup, and these were great. Next time I'll use half the sugar, to suit my personal taste as this was a bit sweet, but the flavor was lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURISSIMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA
Photo by mcgerm
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
The recipe came about out of necessity. My wife is a vegetable phobe and will only eat most stuff covered in cheese sauces, white sauce, or candied in butter and brown sugar. I also have Leeks staring at me from the garden year round, and I needed some other way than soup to use them up. I personally cut my garden carrots (Nate's half-longs) into short one inch sticks to mimic baby carrots, and kind of mirror the cut on the leeks (Hannibal) the same way. As a variation I will mix in parsnips at a ratio of 1 to 2 with the carrots. The kids like the stronger flavor of the parsnips but the wife picks them out... More for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I made this with all intention of taking a picture of it. I was to busy before dinner to get a picture and it went to the table before I could reserve some for later. You can't tell your guest please don't eat that I haven't taken a picture yet. This was easy to make and delicious I had 4 vegetable side dishes on the table and this was voted hands down the favorite, they were scraping the bowl looking for more. Looked very pretty on my "Pretend Easter" dinner table as well as being tasty. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Awesome, but I tweaked it for my 3yr old (she's type 1 diabetic). I sliced veggies like in the picture, added fresh garlic and a turnip, used water instead of broth to avoid extra sodium, no sugar, and olive oil instead of butter. Also had some parsley and other fresh herbs I threw in. Took longer than 15 mins to get nice and browned, but SO GOOD when it was done!! Served with brown rice and grilled chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
this is soooo good, I used more carrots ( about 1 lb) and sliced leeks and carrots as shown in the photo, Since my husband doesn't like aldente veggies, I used 1cup of chicken broth, otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I will make this often,it disappeared quickly. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I can't believe how my picky eaters gobbled this up and asked for more. I used vegetable broth (just because that's what I had on hand) and I've also added chicken breasts to it for a 1-dish meal. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I liked this a lot! Of course I did a bit of tweaking for my eating style using coconut oil instead of butter and I didn't use any sugar. I did add a bit of fresh ginger to the skillet and I had no thyme so that was out as well. I really enjoyed this recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Had no complaints! Everyone loved these. The only thing I did differently was to slice my carrots diagonally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Sorry....thought this was just OK. I'm a vegetarian due to health reasons (not by choice) and thought it'd be great, but had to make many changes & probably won't make it again. Added much more liquid, sugar and cooked much longer. Actually I added more of every spice listed because it needed much more flavor. I chopped baby carrots, but they took quite a while to cook, hence the extra liquid. Overall, just oK. Much prefer the Dijon Carrots and other carrot recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Ding, ding, ding....We have a winner! This is pretty close to perfect as written and oh, so tasty. Thank you for sharing Mcgerm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States