Sauteed Carrots and Leeks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I made this with all intention of taking a picture of it. I was to busy before dinner to get a picture and it went to the table before I could reserve some for later. You can't tell your guest please don't eat that I haven't taken a picture yet. This was easy to make and delicious I had 4 vegetable side dishes on the table and this was voted hands down the favorite, they were scraping the bowl looking for more. Looked very pretty on my "Pretend Easter" dinner table as well as being tasty. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Ding, ding, ding....We have a winner! This is pretty close to perfect as written and oh, so tasty. Thank you for sharing Mcgerm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
My family loved it! I wish the recipe had said what size carrots though. I ended up cooking a bag of 16 oz with 2 large leeks and the ratio was great. However, I think I used too much broth. I added a little bit more because I was worried I had used too many carrots. By the time the broth cooked off, the carrots were a bit softer than they're probably supposed to be. Despite that, the flavor was still delicious! Next time I'll use the same amount of carrots & leeks, but won't add any extra broth. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
this is soooo good, I used more carrots ( about 1 lb) and sliced leeks and carrots as shown in the photo, Since my husband doesn't like aldente veggies, I used 1cup of chicken broth, otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I will make this often,it disappeared quickly. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Yummy! Thanks for sharing this tasty way to prepare leeks. I was looking for a use besides soup, and these were great. Next time I'll use half the sugar, to suit my personal taste as this was a bit sweet, but the flavor was lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURISSIMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I forgot to add the sugar, but we enjoyed this anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Fantastic! Sweet, yet satisfying. Thyme gives it an extra oomph
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
It's an easy recipe, which helped me use up both my leftover leeks and carrots. However, I don't like the sweetness of the carrots that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mcgerm
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
The recipe came about out of necessity. My wife is a vegetable phobe and will only eat most stuff covered in cheese sauces, white sauce, or candied in butter and brown sugar. I also have Leeks staring at me from the garden year round, and I needed some other way than soup to use them up. I personally cut my garden carrots (Nate's half-longs) into short one inch sticks to mimic baby carrots, and kind of mirror the cut on the leeks (Hannibal) the same way. As a variation I will mix in parsnips at a ratio of 1 to 2 with the carrots. The kids like the stronger flavor of the parsnips but the wife picks them out... More for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
This was SO easy and quick to make and I LOVED it (my kids ate it too). I made it for a lunch side dish with my kids chicken nuggets (to make it a bit more healthy)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States