Sauteed Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
We used three large Granny Smith and two small Honeycrisp apples. Also, we were out of cornstarch so I used two Tbsp of tapioca soaked for 5 minutes in the 1/2 c water. Our aunt who happens to be an excellent cook loved these apples. Excellent side for roast pork with sauerkraut on New Years Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kabee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I tried this for our Christmas ham. I don't like Granny Smith apples, so I used Fuji and Red Delicious. I thought it was going to be too sweet, but it wasn't. I actually could've stood it a little sweeter, but everyone loved it, said it was perfect. I added a little nutmeg, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I cooked the apples a little longer to be soft, and got rave reviews. This was the prefect complimnet dish. Will make again for pork chops! I read the other reviews and started out using half the cornstarch, but end up using the amount the recipe called for to get the right thickness. I also doubled the recipe for 13 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Very good. I was making breakfast for dinner and wanted something different. We made this (although I didn't really measure much except the water) to go along with ham and eggs and bread. I put it on top of my ham, and it was very good. I think this would be very good in/on a crepe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I like the way it turned out, but I adapted it (like many other users). First of all, I accidentally used sweet apples--because I got confused about which ones were tart. :) Because of this, I used about half the amount of brown sugar called for. I also used a little less butter, about 50% more cinnamon than called for, and added 1 tsp. of vanilla per 1 recipe. Yum! Next time, I'll try to use tart apples and see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Very tasty. Served this with yogurt for a light and easy dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This was super easy and made the house smell so good! We ate over homemade buttermilk waffles! So yummy! Cant wait to make again and eat over vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Photo by Ady925
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Love this recipe. I added 1/8 cup raisins. 1/4 cup coconut. 1/2 tsp of vanilla and 1/2 tsp of lemon extract (I added it on top of an apple bread recipe I got from Karla in this website.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This is a great Thanksgiving side dish. I did use cornstarch not flour since stepdaughter, son in law and wife are gluten free and cut apples a bit thicker. Doubled recipe hoping some would be left for pancakes the next day; not much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This was okay. I thought the apples turned out good, but the rest was a bit bland I thought. I think next time I make it I will use more cinnamon and add ginger and nutmeg. My step daughter really liked it but really I was just indifferent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frances Bell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Made a smaller amount and put on warm monkey bread.... So good! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 985) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States