Saute of Beef with Wild Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I followed the recipe, except that I used about 4 - 5 tsps of flour and a full can of beef broth with london broil. It was delicious!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This turned out great for me with a few modifications. I used my dutch oven on the stovetop. I started with the red wine reduction then added the beef directly into the red wine sauce. I let it simmer covered about 35 mins. then sprinkeled the flour on top of the beef and covered another 5 mins. I finally added the remaining ingredients covered and let simmer for another 20 minutes. Excellent! Much better as one dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stinkerbellelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Easy and tasty. Beef was very tender! I cooked things in a different order for ease - I browned beef, toasted flour (didn't have a problem with clumping and I think you need to do this to get rid of raw flour taste) and then combined the two and set it aside, wiped pan and did the red wine mixture in same pan, added back beef & flour and then stock, etc. I also think you could coat beef in flour and brown it that way with the same effect. I think this recipe lends itself to mushrooms, because mushrooms simmered in wine are heavenly to me, so I added them. I also tried this recipe in a slow cooker, pretty much following recipe as is except the wine mixture initially goes in slow cooker on high and I brown beef and flour in skillet and add it in. It probably doesn't reduce as much, but I was able to take lid off once it was steadily simmering in order to reduce it a bit more. I served it over penne pasta and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Very good. Next time I will not use so much wine and increase the gravy portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by feedinanarmy
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I used a cabernet sauvignon wine and this dish was wonderful! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by feedinanarmy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Fantastic rich sauce and tender meat. I cooked the beef for 15 minutes only also as I had a cheaper type of beef. I also thought it was missing something taste wise so I added a tablespoon of tomato paste and thickened with cornflour. Otherwise great recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
Fantastic flavor & tender as well. I marinated the cubed beef for 2 hours in red wine before using; also, I didn't have thyme so I substituted basil. One thing I couldn't understand was why we had to separate all the ingredient, i.e. why remove the sauteed veggies from the pan, then cook the beef & remove it, then cook the broth & finally throw everything back in and cook it again. Since I only had one big skillet to use, I would have preferred being able to cook it all together in 1 or 2 steps--all the ingredients end up stewing together anyway. Also, the cooking time is completely off since you have to do all the prelim cooking before you get to the final 55 minute simmer phase (step 4). Since I wanted to keep the meat tender & finish quickly, I only simmered in step 4 for about 15 minutes and then thickened the gravy with a can of mushroom soup. I served the meat & gravy over mashed potatoes and it was an immense hit. One more thing is that I wouldn't fry the flour before adding the broth, this only made the flour clump for me and it was hard to break up. I would mix the flour in after the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
Good basic recipe, but it was missing something. I can see how it would be better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
Very simple to prepare and very flavorful. I used oyster, portobello and straw mushrooms. Wonderful red wine flavour and even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Wellington

This elegant dinner party recipe is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States