Sausages in Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2001
This is the first recipe that my husband had to have 2 helpings--he is a very picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
Add 1 cup of milk instead of water and serve over biscuts. it great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Not a bad recipe for a quick weeknight supper or even a super busy weekend night. I used honey garlic sausages and it actually worked well with the added 2 red peppers in this recipe.Also i reversed the steps by mistake but that wasn't a major disaster. I actually boiled my sausages and then fried them and put aside.Then made the gravy with the pan dripping and put that aside.Fried up the onion and peppers and then added the sausages and sauce and just warmed everything up.Served with boiled nugget potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
As recommended I used ketchup for the tomato sauce and added some sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This was an easy, delicous main dish that tastes like meatballs in a hearty savory sauce. I will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Addison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
ive made this twice. both times added bell pepers and a little crushed red pepper. it was gone really quick. its good with rice or noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
This was not what I expected. I was very disappointed. It was ok, but I had to add garlic to spice it up. The whole family just thought it was ok, but not a keeper. I definately would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtecgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Very good! I decreased the water to 2 cups and used ketchup as recommended from others. That seemed to work perfect. Thick gravy and not watery. I added a few spoonfuls of sour cream at the end. Very good. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Living In: Johnson Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I had to substitute a few ingredients to avoid going to the store, but I think I still got the spirit of this recipe! We had mild Italian chicken sausage, so I used that. It was pre-cooked, so I skipped boiling it first. I fried the onion with a pinch of salt, a grind or two of pepper, and a bit of sugar. I let it carmelize, deglazing it with water, used chicken stock instead of water and bouillon, And I had to use diced tomato, not tomato sauce. I didn't add any salt except what I put in the onion. The flavor was good, but it was more like broth than gravy. Next time I'll add less water/broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
My husband loved this recipe. I put it over wild rice, but I think I will try the biscuits next time. The one thing that I did add to this was a splash of Sherry and it was a huge hit. The Sherry goes so well with the onions and sausage...it really compliments the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States