Sausages in Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2001
This is the first recipe that my husband had to have 2 helpings--he is a very picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
Add 1 cup of milk instead of water and serve over biscuts. it great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
Easy recipe and very good. I replaced the regular sausage with lower in fat turkey sausage. This recipe is perfect for it because it covers the usually unusual taste of turkey sausage. Family loved it and there was plenty of left overs, perfect for freezing portions and reheating later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
YUM, I changed it to beef once and it was a big big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
very simple to put together, with a very nice flavor. quite different from what I normally cook. I used this as a gravy for Toads-in-the-Hole I on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
This recipe was okay to me. I wished that I'd doubled the gravy ingredients. I served mine over mashed potatoes yet the combination made the whole mixture too salty for my family. Will be again but will find ways to cut corners on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nedra Cohen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2005
My husband loved this recipe. I put it over wild rice, but I think I will try the biscuits next time. The one thing that I did add to this was a splash of Sherry and it was a huge hit. The Sherry goes so well with the onions and sausage...it really compliments the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
The gravy gets 4 stars - savory, delicious and quick and easy to make. My problem was with the sausages I used - they were gristly and not very flavorsome. Shame. I omitted the salt because I knew the beef bouillon granules would be salty enough. Also, I used some tomato ketchup because I didn't want to open an entire can of sauce for just for 2 tbsp. I will try this again with different sausage. Thanks, Marianne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
I substituted the pork sausages with Beef ones, used liquid beef stock instead of the water and cubes, and added frozen corn kernels at the end, and my 4yo daughter is STILL saying yum now! Definitely a hit with the kids, fussy husband is sure to enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I had to substitute a few ingredients to avoid going to the store, but I think I still got the spirit of this recipe! We had mild Italian chicken sausage, so I used that. It was pre-cooked, so I skipped boiling it first. I fried the onion with a pinch of salt, a grind or two of pepper, and a bit of sugar. I let it carmelize, deglazing it with water, used chicken stock instead of water and bouillon, And I had to use diced tomato, not tomato sauce. I didn't add any salt except what I put in the onion. The flavor was good, but it was more like broth than gravy. Next time I'll add less water/broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Curly-Q Grilled Sausages

These kickin’ spiral-cut grilled Italian sausages aren’t just cool-looking.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States