Sausage Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Fantastic! Easy and delicious. We halved the recipe; big mistake because we want more! Did not use to stuff turkey. Cooked in a 2qt casserole dish at 350 for 40 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lemere

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I used Pepperidge Farm herbed bread crumbs instead of bread and put this in a crockpot. I added enough chicken broth to make the bread crumbs wet and cooked it on high for about 2 hrs then low 2 more hours. The beautiful thing about it is you can add more broth if it starts to dry out. I made this along with traditional bread dressing and this recipe won hands down. Will make every thanksgiving from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Yeah, this one is a definite keeper. The flavor is as good as any dressing I have ever had. I prepared mine in a slow cooker. Since I doubled the recipe, until the bread compacted, it barely fit into my large slow cooker. That's okay, as the stuffing cooks, it will shrink, giving you a little space at the top to stir the ingredients. As another reviewer suggested, I used turkey drippings to enhance the flavor and help the dressing maintain the right consistency (not dry out). I started the dressing on high, but lowered it to low, and then warm once we started eating. Cooking this in the slow cooker allows one to prepare the dressing far in advance. When on high, if you give it time between stirrings, the dressing forms a nice little crust where the bottom and side walls meet, which will be pleasing to any diners that enjoy a little crunch in the dressing. What a great recipe. This one rocks. An easy five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Made this for Thanksgiving for my boyfriend who loves stuffing. I browned the sausage and then put it all into my crockpot which turned out great! It was really good, and I don't care much for stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wildcat44
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Used 1/2 cornbread and 1/2 white bread crumbs. This is very similar to the stuffing my dads family has been making for years. Added a little cream, and more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wildcat44

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This is just like what my mom always made. Exact ingredients only my job was turning the grinder that attached to the table. She never precooked anything though. I remember my eyes burning grinding those darn onions but I wouldn't give up that job for anything! LOL! In mom's honor (she passed last month) we made this stuffing. We did not saute anything, we added fresh parsley, I made my own bread for the cubes and we cut the butter back to 1/4 cup and used homemade broth (mom did) in its place. I also used my home made sausage links and added some garlic per the Hubs request. Thank you for bringing back those flavor filled memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Good recipe. The only thing I think missing from the actual recipe is some liquid. I had to add chicken stock to this before baking. Other than that, great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JakesLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I toasted and tore some slices of bread instead of using actual bread cubes and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
ive been making this for years and everyone wants the recipe. it really is the best stuffing ever, but instead of butter i use chicken broth and sometimes i add sliced mushrooms. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Greta recipe! I didn't stuff the bird with it. Instead I baked it in a pan so had to add chicken broth for the moisture and it turned out great! I also didn't toast my bread, but that is a personal preference. Why toast bread you're going to put moisture in? Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage and Oyster Stuffing

Traditional bread stuffing gets a kick from Creole seasonings, sausage, and oyste

Sausage Stuffing

See how to make a 5-star sausage stuffing for Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States