Sausage Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Pretty good recipe. Does need a little chicken stock as another stated and you can add quite a few different things to personalize the recipe: bacon, apples, different spice, etc. A couple of people mentioned the lack of cooking instructions and the increased poultry spice. What they didn't notice is this recipe is for turkey stuffing. It's meant to be cooked in the bird. No cooking instructions are required as you would cook it just like a stuffed turkey. The increased spices are required because the spices are diluted from all the wonderful turkey juice that will be flowing through the stuffing. If your sausage is lean, your bread dry, and you're not planning on using the recipe as stated (in a turkey) then reduce the spice, add some chicken broth till moist, put in a covered baking dish for an hour at 350°, and then remove the cover and cook for another 20 minutes to brown/crisp the top. You'll enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
327 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This is not a bad recipe overall, but let me tell you that it needs some help. The recipe does not indicate an oven temperature or baking time. Obviously, this is needed. Since the meat is already cooked, I'd suggest baking 30 minutes in a covered casserole dish at 325 degrees to start, but keep an eye on it. The prep time is very misleading, in part because the recipe does not include baking time also because it assumes that you have cubed bread, cooked sausage, and pre-chopped celery and onions on hand. The recipe is too greasy--cut down the margarine/drippings to 1 stick of margarine, and add some water instead to keep it moist. 3 tsp of poultry seasoning is way too much. Cut to 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This is similar to my mother's traditional recipe,with a few critical ommissions. I am not good with measurements... do it by taste... so a good handful of chopped fresh parsley and a cup or so of chopped walnuts really complement. Also, I use sage sausage, and rather than poultry seasoning, (we already have the parsley)plenty sage, rosemary and thyme (la la la). I stuff it into the turkey (bah humbug to non-stuffer panic)and always make extra, bake in a covered casserole. When you unstuff the turkey, you can mix some of that wetter stuffing in with the dryer baked batch. We all fight over it, later adding it cold with real cranberry sauce to turkey sandwiches w/salt,pepper,mayo. mmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinekate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
This recipe did not have the oven temp or cooking time?????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
Great stuffing - Husband had been requesting sausage stuffing and this was a hit - be carful when blending everything with your hands - hot hot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theboyzmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I cut this recipe in half. I added in fresh minced garlic and I used butter instead of stuffing. I also threw in some fresh minced carrots. This needed a little more moisture, I added in a little chicken broth (I didn't measure, I just added until it looked right). This was a nice basic stuffing. I served this with Sherry Apple Pork Chops, drizzling the "sauce" over the stuffing. It went really well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Fantastic! Simple recipe but it packs a lot of flavor. This was a big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
I used this recipe for Thanksgiving dinner. I made a single batch for stuffing the turkey and a double batch in a roaster. My family loves stuffing. The batch from the turkey was edible, but the roaster batch was terrible. There is way too much poultry seasoning. We could not even eat it. I ended up tossing it in the garbage. Last time I try a recipe for the first time on a holiday. Stupid me!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
This recipe is so fast and easy. I tried this for Xmas 2001 dinner and the whole family raved over it. So I made it for Thanksgiving and again the guests absolutely loved it. Even the vegetarians who dug into it before I could tell them there was sausage in it loved it! LOL after I told them they still ate it. Highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
Wonderful recipe! Something similar to the one my grandmother used to make years ago. I did however cut my poultry seasoning down to my family's liking. Very tasteful and they enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing with us. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage Stuffing

See how to make a 5-star sausage stuffing for Thanksgiving turkey.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States