Sausage Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I picked up some Itallian sausage from the butcher shop and served this dish on Christmas with Crowned Pork Roast. The stuffing was the best part. Thanks for this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Pretty good recipe. Does need a little chicken stock as another stated and you can add quite a few different things to personalize the recipe: bacon, apples, different spice, etc. A couple of people mentioned the lack of cooking instructions and the increased poultry spice. What they didn't notice is this recipe is for turkey stuffing. It's meant to be cooked in the bird. No cooking instructions are required as you would cook it just like a stuffed turkey. The increased spices are required because the spices are diluted from all the wonderful turkey juice that will be flowing through the stuffing. If your sausage is lean, your bread dry, and you're not planning on using the recipe as stated (in a turkey) then reduce the spice, add some chicken broth till moist, put in a covered baking dish for an hour at 350°, and then remove the cover and cook for another 20 minutes to brown/crisp the top. You'll enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
344 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This stuffing was delicious, and very easy. Just make sure to add some chicken stock...it wasn't on the ingredient list, but is definitely essential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This is similar to my mother's traditional recipe,with a few critical ommissions. I am not good with measurements... do it by taste... so a good handful of chopped fresh parsley and a cup or so of chopped walnuts really complement. Also, I use sage sausage, and rather than poultry seasoning, (we already have the parsley)plenty sage, rosemary and thyme (la la la). I stuff it into the turkey (bah humbug to non-stuffer panic)and always make extra, bake in a covered casserole. When you unstuff the turkey, you can mix some of that wetter stuffing in with the dryer baked batch. We all fight over it, later adding it cold with real cranberry sauce to turkey sandwiches w/salt,pepper,mayo. mmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinekate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Out of this world...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Galvin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This is not a bad recipe overall, but let me tell you that it needs some help. The recipe does not indicate an oven temperature or baking time. Obviously, this is needed. Since the meat is already cooked, I'd suggest baking 30 minutes in a covered casserole dish at 325 degrees to start, but keep an eye on it. The prep time is very misleading, in part because the recipe does not include baking time also because it assumes that you have cubed bread, cooked sausage, and pre-chopped celery and onions on hand. The recipe is too greasy--cut down the margarine/drippings to 1 stick of margarine, and add some water instead to keep it moist. 3 tsp of poultry seasoning is way too much. Cut to 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
plain and simply delicious, i normally made stove top stuffing, but after making this, Ive been converted , everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
Was quite good. Rather than make it all sausage, I tried 1/2 the sausage and added 1/2 lb of cooked, crumbled bacon. It probably made it a little saltier, but still good. I also added some of the stuffing the the turkey soup I made the next day and it added a nice flavour to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
This is the best stuffing recipe EVER! I have been making almost this exact stuffing for years and everyone says there is no better stuffing in the world. I have to double the recipe because it's so in-demand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
This is the best turkey stuffing I have ever had! It reminds me of the stuffing my grandma and mom used to make every year. For a slight variation, some toasted pecans are a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage Stuffing

See how to make a 5-star sausage stuffing for Thanksgiving turkey.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States