Sausage Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I used this recipe as the foundation for my stuffing and true to the original posters word, even with small changes, this is a fool proof, knock it out of the park recipe! Honestly, my other half said "Best stuffing I have EVER had in my life!" and I agree! I used a spicy breakfast sausage and added in chopped dried cranberries and also sautéed a little chopped tart & sweet apple with the onion & celery also because I like a very moist dressing, I used a little chicken broth to moisten it even more but, other than that I pretty much followed this recipe. I know this is my stuffing recipe from now on! Thank you for the fantastic recipe and the secret tip that you don't have to be so rigid and precise for this to be the most delicious stuffing / dressing you have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hurricane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I've used this recipe for years. My family and friends LOVE it every year. When used as a dressing (not stuffed into a bird) a broth is needed to keep moist. I like Vegetable broth, myself. I also really like using whole wheat bread. It adds a depth of flavor that I enjoy. I put the oven on 400 and stir and add broth if needed every 10 minutes until it's where I want it. I hope you enjoy it as much as we do. Yay Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I needed to find a lower carb dressing/stuffing this year for my dad who happens to be diabetic. While this isn't officially "low-carb," it really is lower in carbs & is quite yummy! It's a new favorite at our house - we had it at Thanksgiving & Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I use 12 grain bread for a little nutty flavour and some added texture, some cubed apple and two beaten eggs just before stuffing the turkey. Delicious every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I cut this recipe in half. I added in fresh minced garlic and I used butter instead of stuffing. I also threw in some fresh minced carrots. This needed a little more moisture, I added in a little chicken broth (I didn't measure, I just added until it looked right). This was a nice basic stuffing. I served this with Sherry Apple Pork Chops, drizzling the "sauce" over the stuffing. It went really well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
A huge hit! I used one loaf of french bread and had to add some extra chicken stock, but otherwise followed the recipe. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I also baked this outside the bird, so I had to use approximately 4-6 cups of broth/drippings. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Served it at Thanksgiving, and it was a huge hit. My sister dislikes stuffing but tried it to be polite. A new convert to stuffing! Technically we made it as a dressing, since we didn't stuff it in the turkey to cook it, but it was moist and totally delicious. We used a high quality farm loaf (Zingermann's cut into bigger chunks) rather than buy prepared stuffing bread, so it added a delightful flavor on it's own. The only downside is that it won't last very long--it's always the first casualty in the leftovers consumption contest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I made this at Thanksgiving for a friend from up north. Being from the south I usually make cornbread dressing, but my friend asked for bread dressing. I came across this recipe and decided to give it a try. The dressing was a hit at dinner. The sausage and butter makes this dish rich and flavorful. I used a loaf of day old bread from the bread store. Just cut the bread into chunks and follow the recipe. Simple and Delicious!! (I only gave four stars because, after all, I am southern and partial to cornbread dressing).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drumscott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
A very rich stuffing. I made it with a few changes ~~~ 4 more cups of bread and about 2 cups of chicken stock. I also used salt free butter. Baked for 30 minutes at 350 and it came out very nice. My small family really enjoyed it. Next time I may try half the butter. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weedsport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage Stuffing

See how to make a 5-star sausage stuffing for Thanksgiving turkey.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States