Sausage-Stuffed Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I used hot italian sausage for the filling and added some apples just because... The filling was good but overall, I couldn't help but feel that I am eating 2 different dish in one - bland acorn squash and squash with filling. Maybe the squash needs some seasoning?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This recipe has so much flavor and is a great way to use the squash from the garden...It is a great, light meal for a summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cuttnshowmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
So easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
It sounds so weird but is sooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
There is an understanding at my house: I make 1 supper a night & you have to take at least 1 bite of whatever I make - if you don't like it there's leftovers & sandwich fixin's. The nights I make squash find my DH fending for himself. Until last week when I tried this recipie. The changes I made: I scored the uncooked squash in a grid pattern (like a ham), sprinkled with garlic pepper before nuking, subbed plain Greek style yogurt for the sour cream(same taste, better nutrition), nuked the squash for 7 min. before stuffing, & finished in the oven. Otherwise, followed the recipie as posted. Oh, WOW! After the first bite, my DH WENT TO TOWN!!! I thought it was pretty great, too. He was even scraping the shell for last bits of squash after the meat was all gone, "because the sauce just gets in there & makes it delicious" he says. lol I never knew squash did so well in the microwave & it makes this a very doable dinner after work. I want to try throwing a handful of cooked quinoa into the stuffing mix, too. Hmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I didn't have any sour cream so I used cream cheese instead, and grated cheddar on top before baking in the oven to heat though. it was seriously yummy and my family has requested that I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I use J.Dean Maple sausage. I form the raw sausage into little meatballs(~ 3/cavity-the size of golf balls)I put them in the cavity of the squash and bake it for 1 hour @ 350. Great meal with fresh bread or rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA
Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
a creative use of squash! I liked the taste very much, I enjoyed how it looked on the plate as well. I cut the recipe in 1/2 (used one squash) and served four people as a side dish. I used slightly less sour cream that it called for, I didn't want it wet and creamy. It was delicious. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Tasted really good. Next time I'll bake instead of microwave, the edges of the squash didn't get done all the way but the inside was perfect. It worked much better with very round squash as opposed to oblong. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was a perfect way to use our winter squash from our CSA. We used a hubbard squash. It was quick to prepare and tasted amazing! My whole family (including my picky son) loved it! It tasted even better the next day for lunch, heated in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States