Sausage-Stuffed Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I found this to be a delightful alternative and worth adding to my menu rotation. To all of you who are having fits over the fact that there is that terrible Italian sausage in the menu. Please do me a favor. If you don't like a recipe, DON'T EAT IT. Not everyone in this world is a health freak. I am 72 years old, from Italian ancestry and doing just fine. In the future, do 2 things when you see the dreaded "sausage" 1. Don't cook it. 2. Shut up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Marone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This is such an easy and tasty recipe! I wanted to say to those who worry that, while it is delicious, it isn't that healthful, that it tastes just as good using veggie Italian sausage (Lightlife brand has 140 calories and 7 g fat per link) and 2% milk mozzarella. (You could just use an egg white, too, but I didn't bother with that.) I'm a professional chef, but my husband and I are trying to eat more healthfully, so I look for ways to cut calories and fat while still being yummy - and Italian dishes like this are often really good candidates. And a hint to those who had a difficult time getting the eggplant flesh out of its shell: try scoring the eggplant before you oil and bake it, maybe even cutting the 1/2 inch around the shell ... works wonders!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. D
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This was a very good recipe though I made some changes. I used 1lb ground italian sausage instead of 1/2lb link sausage, and therefore went heavy on the other ingredients. The ground sausage gave the filling much more flavor than the link would have. I also added ground oregano, fresh cilantro, parmesan cheese, and extra moz. cheese. My gas oven cooks hot and really withered my eggplant skin on the initial roast, so I turned it down to 375 for the second bake. My husband loved and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
Fabulous! I also added onion and peppers to the stuffing. Very yummy, will make again, this may have to become part of the weekly, eggplant season menu in our house! Didn't know you could do that with an eggplant! I used home made sauce with fresh tomatoes from the garden. This recipe doesn't tell you, but seed the eggplant first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I made this tonight for dinner. Excellent. I only doubled the recipe. I never liked eggplant really. I made for my husband who is a big fan of eggplant, But I have to say I ate every bit of it! However it is a very heavy dish, I served pasta on the side with the extra sauce, but it was too much.This eggplant dish is fine with a salad alone. I will make it again for many years to come. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 143sidney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Very tasty! I added onions while browning the sausage and cut down the 2nd stage cooking time for the eggplant to only 10-15 minutes because the cheese was getting very brown. A tip to scoop out the insides: cut with a sharp knife the exact outline of where you want to scoop and then use a spoon to scoop out the flesh. It is much easier than only using a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Cup Of Deliciousness

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Very yummy and pretty darned easy. I made this in the afternoon, then cooked it off at dinner time. Some changes I made were I added onion and green pepper when cooking the meat. I also used both sausage and hamburger. I added fresh parsley & basil and omitted the egg. I don't think the egg was all that necessary. My family all thought the dish was wonderful - we actually had extra filling, so I also filled a couple green pepper. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
EXCELLENT!! I've made this twice now. Both times I added onion. Also, I substituted the spaghetti sauce with bruchetta. It made a bit more chunky, so yummy! We couldn't eat it up fast enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rick Ratayczak
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Pretty good recipe. I followed almost to the letter. I did however use Spicy italian sausage, and it was TOO spicy. Kinda ruined the dish. Next time I will use Mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Ratayczak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Photo by Casablancaise
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This was very delicious. In stead of sausage (we don't eat pork in my family) I used frozen meat balls (8 for this recipe) that I thawed in the microwave then chopped. I skipped the egg, the filling held well together with just the tomato sauce and the cheese. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States