Sausage-Stuffed Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rick Ratayczak
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Pretty good recipe. I followed almost to the letter. I did however use Spicy italian sausage, and it was TOO spicy. Kinda ruined the dish. Next time I will use Mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Ratayczak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
awesome! who would have ever thought to stuff an eggplant! This was sooo tasty, my husband loved it too. I substituted breakfast sausage for the italian sausage cause that's what I had handy. I also added a clove of garlic to the stuffing and diced onions/peppers. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Very tasty! I added onions while browning the sausage and cut down the 2nd stage cooking time for the eggplant to only 10-15 minutes because the cheese was getting very brown. A tip to scoop out the insides: cut with a sharp knife the exact outline of where you want to scoop and then use a spoon to scoop out the flesh. It is much easier than only using a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Cup Of Deliciousness

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Very yummy and pretty darned easy. I made this in the afternoon, then cooked it off at dinner time. Some changes I made were I added onion and green pepper when cooking the meat. I also used both sausage and hamburger. I added fresh parsley & basil and omitted the egg. I don't think the egg was all that necessary. My family all thought the dish was wonderful - we actually had extra filling, so I also filled a couple green pepper. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
Fabulous! I also added onion and peppers to the stuffing. Very yummy, will make again, this may have to become part of the weekly, eggplant season menu in our house! Didn't know you could do that with an eggplant! I used home made sauce with fresh tomatoes from the garden. This recipe doesn't tell you, but seed the eggplant first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
Not really healthy, but very tasty. Great way to utilize eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
EXCELLENT!! I've made this twice now. Both times I added onion. Also, I substituted the spaghetti sauce with bruchetta. It made a bit more chunky, so yummy! We couldn't eat it up fast enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. D
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This was a very good recipe though I made some changes. I used 1lb ground italian sausage instead of 1/2lb link sausage, and therefore went heavy on the other ingredients. The ground sausage gave the filling much more flavor than the link would have. I also added ground oregano, fresh cilantro, parmesan cheese, and extra moz. cheese. My gas oven cooks hot and really withered my eggplant skin on the initial roast, so I turned it down to 375 for the second bake. My husband loved and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This is a really good and different kind of dish. Will make this again. Thanks for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fordyce, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and my husband LOVES it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States