Sausage-Stuffed Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
My husband loves eggplant, so I wanted to try this. I made it like the recipe says except that one of the eggplants that I'd gotten was spoiled inside, so I had too much filling for the one eggplant I had left. I just put all the filling into the one eggplant shell. It was pretty good--you could taste the eggplant in the filling somewhat, but not a lot actually. The eggplant shell was not very thick by the time it was scooped out, so there was not much eggplant flavor there either. Don't know that I'd make it again. Think I'll just try eggplant patties--I know my husband likes those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This is a great recipe and has led me to even better things, and it's relatively inexpensive. I've made a couple of variations on it now, but I usually add black olives, cottage cheese and jalapenos into the mix. I also use turkey sausage instead of regular sausage to reduce the caloric intake. It bakes perfectly, like a little eggplant boat. It's also good if you top it with panko or bread crumbs and some cheese and bake a few minutes longer. Overall this is an excellent creation and I'm grateful to have this recipe in my repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This was really tasty. It was a great way to eat some veggies. We used turkey sausage and low-fat mozzarella cheese, so felt pretty good about the dish. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This recipe is delicious! The flavors were so good together. I had trouble with the eggplant shell, so I threw the mixture in a casserole and topped with cheese and sauce. My kids and hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefAMY
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I loved this! It makes a nice alternative to the standard meal. They reheated great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This recipe is super. I love making it on the grill. I grill my eggplant 1st, stuff it with the pre-cooked mixture (that I've done on the stove top) and then finish it off back on the grill. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This was so delicious. I used a pound of hot turkey sausage and low fat mozzarella. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
What a good way to cook eggplant! I used ground turkey instead of sausage because it's what I had on hand. I'm a garlic lover, so I seasoned the meat liberally. So tasty. So glad I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ive509

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I wish there were more eggplant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Very good! I added chopped tomatoes to the stuffing. The eggplant kind of got lost with everything else going on, but still very good. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States