Sausage-Stuffed Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This was good but def not great. Overall, we liked this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julnlisha is a cook!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roselle, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Springfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I love eggplant, but my wife hates it, so when I make it I'm usually the only one who will eat it. Not with this recipe. It was so fantastic that she couldn't get over the fact that it was eggplant! Really, it tastes like an excellent Chicago deep dish pizza without the crust! And it only gets better the day after. Along with the original recipe, I sauted 1/2 onion and 1 lg clove garlic before adding the sausage. Then a pinch of basil, sage and oregano. I layered everything -- sauce, meat, a layer of sauted mushrooms and parmesian. Then nice big blobs of ricotta covered with mozzarella cheese. Then I mixed in 1/4 cup sauce with the remaining sausage, and topped it with parmesian. Baked for 25 minutes, then the last 5 minutes I added more mozzerella and baked until golden -- not burned. Fantastic. (I used a total of 3/4 cup of sauce since I don't like too much -- yum!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Nice, very easy. My daughter doesn't care for eggplant, but she loved the filling. I added about a tablespoon of minced garlic and quite a bit more Italian seasoning (I used basil, oregano, thyme, and marjoram, totalling about 1 teaspoon) and still thought it could have used more. Also used gluten-free breadcrumbs. Next time, I'll put the filling over white rice for my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This turned out better than I had hoped. I added grated zucchini that I had sauted with garlic and used jack/cheddar cheese. My hubby who doesn't like eggplant loved it. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Delicious! I added diced onions and red bell peppers (sauteed) and half a can of fire roasted tomatoes. Mushrooms would be good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
i doubled this recipe and used my own sauce, and they were awesome. if i had to use store bought sauce, they would have been just as good. i made the mistake of mixing the mozzarella into the mixture before stuffing, so i sprinkled some parm on the top with an additonal bit of sauce. i will make these again hopefully when my crop of eggplants come in this summer. thanks for the post Tanya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Although the kids still don't love eggplant, they like this better than eggplant parmsan. My changes include: only used 1/4 pound sausage and added 1 large shallot that I sauted when browning the sausage, crushed fennel seeds, pinch of cayenne. I pulsed everything in my chopper to hide chunks too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I prepared the Sausage-Stuffed Eggplant on Valentine's Day for my husband. I have recently been paralyzed from the waist down and this was my second meal I have prepared from scratch. My husband had to buy the main ingredients. It was so good that someone where my husband works even asked for the recipe and I have connected her to your e-mail address. Thank you. May
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This was a good recipe. I added chopped cilantro and green onions. It didn't take me 30 minutes for the second time baking since the cheese were already browning by 20 minutes or so. I must have a hot oven. Anyhow, good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This is great! I think with all recipes you have to adapt to what you like/eat. I used turkey sausage - spicy and it was awesome. I also left out the bread crumbs and egg. And since I am light on sauce I didn't serve extra sauce. Veggie sausage, turkey sausage, meatballs, etc...all will work great! Even veggies I think! This will be awesome come summer with fresh homegrown eggplant and homegrown tomatoes instead of the sauce - and on the grill!! Yum! My kids even liked this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States