Sausage-Stuffed Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I made this last night, it was very good. I used italian sausages, took out of the casings and cooked in a skillet until browned, added all other ingredients and stuffed into pre-baked eggplant. The only thing I did not like was after hollowing out the eggplant ,there were so many seeds. Baked it for 30 mins more and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I have made this 3 times in two weeks!! Once for myself, and then I had to have friends over to share. It's fabulous. tip - for one person - make whole recipe but cook one and refrigerate the other for the next days dinner - perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I followed the recipe as closely as I could; used turkey sausage instead of pork and a mozzarella/provolone blend (it was what I had), but other than that, I didn't change much. I hollowed my eggplants to a 1/4 inch thickness instead of 1/2 inch thickness, because I've had trouble with the eggplants cooking thoroughly in stuffed eggplant dishes before, and this worked well. I would have liked one more ingredient in the stuffing, since it was a bit sausage-heavy and the eggplant kind of got lost; then again, it's "Sausage-Stuffed Eggplant," not "Sausage-And-Some-Other-Stuff-Stuffed Eggplant." A little on the heavy side, but tasty and super easy! If I'd planned a little better, it would have been fast, too; roasting the eggplant and browning the sausage ahead would have definitely cut down on the evening prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Tastes great but a bit too 'mushy' for my taste. I followed exactly. my wife LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Made this exactly as directed. Hubby loved it but I thought it was just ok. Might make it again if he requests it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
We were extremely disappointd in this dish...not out type of food I guess...but an easy recipe to do...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Fantastic. I have made this twice now. The first time exactly as written and the results were phenomenal. The second time I added onion and some chopped boiled shrimp that I had left over from a previous dinner. Each time it was terrific. Thank you for sharing this terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Yikes - I know I am not the norm with how people like this but for us it was a huge bust and I am no slouch in the kitchen. Guess it just wasn't for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Valley, California, USA
Living In: Belchertown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
OK. John liked better than me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I love eggplant to decided to give this a try. It turned out pretty well, but I did make a couple of changes. I swapped out the mozzarella in the sausage mixture for a few tablespoons of parmesan. I also did not use the egg. Next time I might consider salting and draining the eggplant for about half an hour to get rid of some of the bitter juices, and might try regular ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States