Sausage-Stuffed Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Although the kids still don't love eggplant, they like this better than eggplant parmsan. My changes include: only used 1/4 pound sausage and added 1 large shallot that I sauted when browning the sausage, crushed fennel seeds, pinch of cayenne. I pulsed everything in my chopper to hide chunks too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I prepared the Sausage-Stuffed Eggplant on Valentine's Day for my husband. I have recently been paralyzed from the waist down and this was my second meal I have prepared from scratch. My husband had to buy the main ingredients. It was so good that someone where my husband works even asked for the recipe and I have connected her to your e-mail address. Thank you. May
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This was a good recipe. I added chopped cilantro and green onions. It didn't take me 30 minutes for the second time baking since the cheese were already browning by 20 minutes or so. I must have a hot oven. Anyhow, good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This is great! I think with all recipes you have to adapt to what you like/eat. I used turkey sausage - spicy and it was awesome. I also left out the bread crumbs and egg. And since I am light on sauce I didn't serve extra sauce. Veggie sausage, turkey sausage, meatballs, etc...all will work great! Even veggies I think! This will be awesome come summer with fresh homegrown eggplant and homegrown tomatoes instead of the sauce - and on the grill!! Yum! My kids even liked this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
The whole family loved it. I used part ground sausage and part ground beef. I also added chopped onions, peppers, and minced garlic to the sauteed meat. We're trying to reduce our bread intake and didn't use breadcrumbs, it was fine without the breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I gave this delightful dish the highest marks mainly because of the incredible blend of flavors and texture. I prepared this last night following the recipe to the letter and was pleased with the results. I did find handling the product somewhat cumbersome. The next time I try this I will use individual gratin dishes for main course servings or ramekins to serve this as an appetizers spread with crostini. The variations and applications are exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This was excellent! I added onion, green pepper, and garlic while the meat was browning and parmesan and red pepper flakes once it had finished. The flavor was exquisite. I served it to a group of 6, none of whom thought they liked eggplant, and they all LOVED it. Also, I noticed afterwards someone said you needed to seed the eggplant. I did not and it was fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butte, Montana, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Make this last night, only change was I used chicken italian sausage. The flavor was incredible I love eggplant. I do think next time I will add green pep, onion, and mushroom, it needs more vegies. Thank yoU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michellejo3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I used Ground Turkey Italian sausage instead! This was Great!!! love eggplant! mostly use eggplant for egg plant permesan, now I found i new way to cook egg plant!! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prudwetz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Thanks for the great recipe. I probably would have given it 5 stars if I had followed the recipe. I made the healthy version. I did as some of the other reviewers and used the low fat cheese. I did sub the sausage with ground turkey and seasoned it with garlic salt, red pepper and cayane pepper. I also sauteed a bit of red onion and red peppers with the turkey. It was very good. My husband loved it and ate half of the dish himself. My 4 year-old son had 2 helpings. To me it was lacking some spice in the meat.....which is my fault not the recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Lasagna

Layers of breaded roasted eggplant with ground beef, tomato sauce, and cheese.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States