Sausage-Stuffed Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Excellent, Excellent. A new way to eat eggplant. And because my husband & I are watching our weight, I used turkey sausage, substituted stewed tomatoes for the spagetti sauce and used a little asiago cheese. And all of my recipes have red pepper, onion and fresh garlic. Thanks for a really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lanie Tingle
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Ok, so had an eggplant that needed to be used, and thought I had usable sausage, alas I did not, so I changed this recipe up A LOT, but I like how it turned out. I used sliced turkey instead of sausage, used stuffing crumbs instead of just plain bread crumbs, used some leftover oil/vinegar with lots of italian spices that was part of a cold tortellini salad as the "egg" -- used tomato paste because I didn't have spaghetti sauce, added sliced red onions and baby spinach, grated cheese to the mix, then did slices of pesto jack on top. sounds like a mess, but it turned out wonderful. I never seem to follow recipes, but it usually turns out good, if not better than the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanie Tingle
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I made this recipe as it is written and it was outstanding. If I had ordered it at a restaurant I would have happily paid big bucks for it! We'll definitely be putting this one on our menu again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Excellent...I'm not one for grilled or roasted eggplant but this was so awesome, and the flavors were so well blended nothing over powered anything else yet all the flavors came through...I'd love to make as a casserole so I can make for a pot luck or a luncheon....I'll let you know how it turns out....Yumm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This was good but def not great. Overall, we liked this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julnlisha is a cook!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roselle, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Springfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I love eggplant, but my wife hates it, so when I make it I'm usually the only one who will eat it. Not with this recipe. It was so fantastic that she couldn't get over the fact that it was eggplant! Really, it tastes like an excellent Chicago deep dish pizza without the crust! And it only gets better the day after. Along with the original recipe, I sauted 1/2 onion and 1 lg clove garlic before adding the sausage. Then a pinch of basil, sage and oregano. I layered everything -- sauce, meat, a layer of sauted mushrooms and parmesian. Then nice big blobs of ricotta covered with mozzarella cheese. Then I mixed in 1/4 cup sauce with the remaining sausage, and topped it with parmesian. Baked for 25 minutes, then the last 5 minutes I added more mozzerella and baked until golden -- not burned. Fantastic. (I used a total of 3/4 cup of sauce since I don't like too much -- yum!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Nice, very easy. My daughter doesn't care for eggplant, but she loved the filling. I added about a tablespoon of minced garlic and quite a bit more Italian seasoning (I used basil, oregano, thyme, and marjoram, totalling about 1 teaspoon) and still thought it could have used more. Also used gluten-free breadcrumbs. Next time, I'll put the filling over white rice for my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This turned out better than I had hoped. I added grated zucchini that I had sauted with garlic and used jack/cheddar cheese. My hubby who doesn't like eggplant loved it. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamila Low

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Delicious! I added diced onions and red bell peppers (sauteed) and half a can of fire roasted tomatoes. Mushrooms would be good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
i doubled this recipe and used my own sauce, and they were awesome. if i had to use store bought sauce, they would have been just as good. i made the mistake of mixing the mozzarella into the mixture before stuffing, so i sprinkled some parm on the top with an additonal bit of sauce. i will make these again hopefully when my crop of eggplants come in this summer. thanks for the post Tanya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Lasagna

Layers of breaded roasted eggplant with ground beef, tomato sauce, and cheese.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States