Sausage, Spinach and Ricotta Calzone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Four 6 3/4 inch beautiful calzones! I used about 1 1/4 cup flour for the dough and then used the other 1/4 for kneading. The dough made the perfect soft bread crust and the cheese combo was great! I'm sure you could try it with lots of veggie options and other meats (as others have said). Good place to start and customize from there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
5 stars for taste, but the previous reviewer was right on when she said the proportions were off. I'm an experienced cook but found it nearly impossible to create 8" circles out of the dough. Also, even with adding additional flour, the dough was very sticky. Next time, I'd use 2 cups of flour when making the dough, and slightly increase salt and sugar. Also easier if you use a silpat to roll out dough and bake directly on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
We have a great pizza dough recipe we make in our bread machine. It can easily make two medium size pizzas. Since our children were more interested in pizza I had enough dough left over for two large calzones. It was great. My husband has a nitrate allergy, found in most sausage, so we used Al Fresco brand Sweet Italian Style Chicken Sausage (with red and green peppers in it). It comes in links pre-cooked so I diced up two links and warmed them up on the stove. Made the spinach and cheese mixture as directed, except I eliminated all the Italian type seasonings since the sausage already was very flavorful. I added the toppings as directed but sprinkled a tiny amount of mozzarella on top before folding over. Using a fork to pinch the edges works great and looks professional. I baked them on our pre-heated pizza stone for about 18 min and they were perfect. Put pizza sauce on the side. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I worked for a mom and pop pizza shop in high school and have never been able to find a calzone recipe that equaled. This one was FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This was excellent! The dough turned out perfectly, and I have never made pizza dough before! We added sun dried tomatoes and replaced the sausage with organic ground turkey- excellent! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I cheated and used store-bought dough but the filling was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKJS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Great recipe! There's enough dough for 4 and it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Don't listen to the person who said there were so many technical errors. It was the perfect amount for the 4 of us. Not all flour has the same moisture content so 1 1/2 cups could work for some. You shouldn't blame someone because you had to throw out some filling. You could have turned it into something else. It was an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Oh my...where to start. First, I'll say that without the many technical errors, this might have been a great recipe. In no way possible did the recipe for the crust make enough for four calzones. I got two, but with one cup of flour (the other 1/2 cup in recipe is for kneading) I should have known. Because of this, I had wayyy to much fillings. I had to throw out almost half of the sausage mix and more than half of the cheeses mix. What a waste! I also had to scramble to figure out what to do, since we are a family of four and I have only two calzones! I had to order a pizza and after all that work I feel a bit frazzled....Sorry, but this recipe just doesn't work as is. I have the two in the oven now for another day....hope they reheat well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This recipe is great! I did change things up, just a tad. When I sauted the spinach, I added a couple tablespoons of minced garlic. Instead of sausage, I used pepperoni. Since the pepperoni was already cooked, I just used a Tbsp of EVOO to the pan, spinach w/garlic and then added the water. I then drained the liquid and added the pepperoni. Also, once I made the slits on the top, I lightly buttered the top and sprinkled some parm cheese. Even my picky, pizaa loving husband enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States