Sausage, Spinach and Ricotta Calzone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
The portion for this recipe was great. I just used it for dough portion only though. Then I stuffed the calzone with pepperoni, marinara, and pepper jack since it's all I had. It was good enough for 2-4. Depends how hungry the people are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
All I had was pie dough, and I know it wasn't the same, but the family LOVED this! I made two large calzones with the recipe as stated. Next time, I'll use pizza dough, and I'll load the calzone up with other veggies/meats to make it even more filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari Ramirez
Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
We use prepared pizza dough and sometimes just chopped spinach into the ricotta mixture. My family loves this recipe and asks for it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Four 6 3/4 inch beautiful calzones! I used about 1 1/4 cup flour for the dough and then used the other 1/4 for kneading. The dough made the perfect soft bread crust and the cheese combo was great! I'm sure you could try it with lots of veggie options and other meats (as others have said). Good place to start and customize from there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
5 stars for taste, but the previous reviewer was right on when she said the proportions were off. I'm an experienced cook but found it nearly impossible to create 8" circles out of the dough. Also, even with adding additional flour, the dough was very sticky. Next time, I'd use 2 cups of flour when making the dough, and slightly increase salt and sugar. Also easier if you use a silpat to roll out dough and bake directly on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
We have a great pizza dough recipe we make in our bread machine. It can easily make two medium size pizzas. Since our children were more interested in pizza I had enough dough left over for two large calzones. It was great. My husband has a nitrate allergy, found in most sausage, so we used Al Fresco brand Sweet Italian Style Chicken Sausage (with red and green peppers in it). It comes in links pre-cooked so I diced up two links and warmed them up on the stove. Made the spinach and cheese mixture as directed, except I eliminated all the Italian type seasonings since the sausage already was very flavorful. I added the toppings as directed but sprinkled a tiny amount of mozzarella on top before folding over. Using a fork to pinch the edges works great and looks professional. I baked them on our pre-heated pizza stone for about 18 min and they were perfect. Put pizza sauce on the side. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I worked for a mom and pop pizza shop in high school and have never been able to find a calzone recipe that equaled. This one was FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This was excellent! The dough turned out perfectly, and I have never made pizza dough before! We added sun dried tomatoes and replaced the sausage with organic ground turkey- excellent! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I cheated and used store-bought dough but the filling was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKJS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States