Sausage Spinach Alfredo Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This is absolutely fantastic! BUT - there's no way there's enough sauce to hande three layers of noodles. It needs at least half again as much sauce if not twice the amount of sauce. I ended up adding a couple tablespoons of heavy cream between the layers and only used two layers of noodles. The flavor is amazing, though!!! I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mominator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Very good and different from the norm. Made some changes to this one, I used all Mozz instead of cheddar, used around two jars of alfredo sauce, mixed in a can of diced tomatoes drained and a can of mushrooms drained to the ricotta mixture. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chinabound

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
Excellent, although you may need to add more milk or cream to the sauce to keep the noodles moist enough. I also added roasted red peppers, which were tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I used regular lasagna noodles and soaked them in hot water for about 15-20 minutes. I had cottage cheese (16 oz.) so I used that instead of ricotta. This is really good with added fresh mushrooms (saute in a little butter, garlic & a pinch of salt). I also doubled the cheese on top. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
this is really yummy, I added a second jar of alfredo sauce and a little more sausage because I had some extra, and used about 5oz of fresh spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Good, like another reviewer said, the jarred sauce in combination with the sausage was fairly salty. I did change the recipe based on others' reviews. I used turkey Italian sausage. I also sauteed sliced button and cremini mushrooms, minced garlic and mixed them with the sausage and alfredo sauce. Instead of extra jarred sauce, I used an equal amount of milk and 1 TB unsalted butter/flour roux. I also replaced the Cheddar with mozz and I used fresh spinach, wilted, squeezed of water and chopped, mixed in with the cheeses. I baked 35 min with the foil on, 10 min with the foil off to brown the cheese on top. Because of the saltiness, I think next time, I'll use 1/2 sausage 1/2 ground beef or turkey. Also, I'll add a little ground nutmeg to the alfredo...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCMN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Wow! this was incredible! I can't say enough about the heavenly taste!. The cheese mixture did not cover evrything, but cheese melts. I just tried to evenly distribute the mixture and it came out perfect. I followed the recipe except that I bought mushroom alfredo sauce. Yum! Next time I may add some canned mushrooms. AMAZING flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Loved it!! Perfect for people who don't like/can't eat tomato sauce. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This is so good! My SO and I both really don't like tomato sauce, so we tried this! I cut the sausage amount in half, added 1/2 pound of lean ground beef and 8 fresh spinach instead of the frozen. I doubled the amount of the Alfredo sauce. Next time I will add a small amount of sauteed onion and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
I'll give this one 5 stars but I made many modifications. I used a 9x9 pan but DID NOT half the recipe. I used 1/2 lb sausage and 1/2 lb ground turkey which i cooked with some fresh minced garlic (1-2 cloves) and some sliced onion as well as salt, pepper, and some italian seasoning. I used a premade alfredo sauce (which was very salty) and added a clove of garlic to that. I totally forgot to thaw the spinach so i cooked it in the microwave and just added it to the meat mixture which was already put aside in a bowl. I too omitted the cheddar and just used a mixed italian cheese. Had no problem with it drying out, recommend reserving some alfredo sauce for the top layer--just enough for a thin layer. Nice job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States