Sausage Spinach Alfredo Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by aonanini
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Being an amateur cook and all, I couldn't believe I pulled this off! I used 1/2 lean ground meat and 1/2 hot sausage, added mushrooms and onions to the meat while cooking, cut the cheddar cheeese to about a cup, and added half a can of diced tomatoes with garlic to the cheese mixture. I also used cottage instead of ricotta cheese and waited 'till last 15 mins. to add the mozz. on top. It was ready in just an hour, too. I highly recommend the diced tomatoes, I wish I would've put the whole can in. If I can make it, anyone can. Don't forget to season the meat well when cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aonanini

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This is so good! My SO and I both really don't like tomato sauce, so we tried this! I cut the sausage amount in half, added 1/2 pound of lean ground beef and 8 fresh spinach instead of the frozen. I doubled the amount of the Alfredo sauce. Next time I will add a small amount of sauteed onion and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Great tasting recipe for an alternative to traditional tomatoe sauce based lasagne! My husband dosn't like tomatoe sauce, so I am always looking for a good white sauce recipe. The only reason I give 4 instead of 5 stars is because of the no bake noodles. I have made this reciped twice and it was great both times and my family loved it. The first time I used the no bake noodles, and they came out tough and hard to eat! They weren't soft like regular lasagne noodles after cooking. Couldn't even hardly break them with a fork. So I made it again with regular lasagne noodles. Cooked them per package direction then added them to the reciped. I also sauted some onions and fresh mushrooms into the sausage when it was partially cooked through and this just added to the great flavorful recipe. Using regular noodles vs the no bake makes this a 5 star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I used regular lasagna noodles and soaked them in hot water for about 15-20 minutes. I had cottage cheese (16 oz.) so I used that instead of ricotta. This is really good with added fresh mushrooms (saute in a little butter, garlic & a pinch of salt). I also doubled the cheese on top. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I've been making a recipe just like this for years! I think it goes well as a brunch lasagna due to the sausage and cheddar cheese. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This was an okay dish, had to much of a texture issue with the ricotta cheese it really stood out. love alfredo but prefer on regular pasta and red sauce for lasgna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Great recipe! I did not have lasagna noodles, so I cooked 3 (dry) cups of macaroni and layered. I also used cottage cheese instead of ricotta. I baked about 35 minutes. Even my picky eater loved this and went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
The only thing I did differently was to use fresh spinach. I also threw in some diced onion as I was browning the sausage. This was good but not quite as good as regular beef/marinara lasagna. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
I'll give this one 5 stars but I made many modifications. I used a 9x9 pan but DID NOT half the recipe. I used 1/2 lb sausage and 1/2 lb ground turkey which i cooked with some fresh minced garlic (1-2 cloves) and some sliced onion as well as salt, pepper, and some italian seasoning. I used a premade alfredo sauce (which was very salty) and added a clove of garlic to that. I totally forgot to thaw the spinach so i cooked it in the microwave and just added it to the meat mixture which was already put aside in a bowl. I too omitted the cheddar and just used a mixed italian cheese. Had no problem with it drying out, recommend reserving some alfredo sauce for the top layer--just enough for a thin layer. Nice job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
My family really likes this. Try sauteeeing onions, garlic and fresh mushrooms and adding to sausage, spinach and alfredo sauce misture. I usually double the alfredo sause. Make it a day ahead. Add extra milk/cream, if necessary. Watch the oven so it doesn't dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States