Sausage Spanish Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
A great one pan meal! I left out the celery bc I didn't have any on hand and used the salsa. Added garlic, cumin, paprika, and oregano and ended up cooking for 45 mins before the rice was cooked. DH loved it but my 3yo didn't seem crazy about it. 4 servings if you serve it by the truck load- could easily be halved and fed the three of us just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I omitted the celery and used mushrooms instead. I used a lot more spice at the beginning- chili powder, paprika, turmeric and used basil/oregano mix to flavor the tomato sauce. Chicken stock instead of water. This is a versatile recipe which will use lots of veg well, with great flavor. And great served with sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Didn't have the diced tomatoes but I did have a big jar of salsa-- I used about 1 + 1/3 cup of salsa instead-- turned out GREAT. I also substituted by using a storebought mix of green pepper-celery-onion (frozen, about 2 cups worth) and added to pan with the ground sausage before browning. VERY easy recipe, thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Awesome recipe. You should use sriracha for the chili sauce/salsa. Makes it excellent. Plus i like to drop the celery and add a can of rotel. plus instead of cheddar cheese you can use velveeta and make an awesome rice dip. Spicy cheesy. Oh and i add a can of corn and a can of drained black beans. Hahah you can do a lot with this recipe. But the basics are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
If this recipe is not spicy enough for your taste, use a jalapeno andouille sausage to give it extra kick. We made this for a party last night and our guests were licking the pan. Great one pan recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This dish was easy to make. I left out the celery (I don't like it), and used diced tomatoes with chiles, skipped adding salsa. I served with a little bit of low fat sour cream. I did have to simmer for about 50 minutes for the rice to get tender. This is a great dish to make if you like to have leftovers to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is a good recipe. My celery didn't get cooked enough for my liking (I like it soft), and I used seasoned diced tomatoes. Thanks for the quick, yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Diamondhead, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This rice was excellent. It was moist and flavorful. Served it with Beef Enchiladas, and corn muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Husband liked it, but I did not. The rice was really good, but the sausage ruined it in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckee
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States