Sausage Spanish Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I love this recipe! Have made it several times. I have taken it to church potlucks, and my Pastors wife, who is the best cook in the world, just raves about it. I make it just like the recipe, and it turns out great. I do use Turkey kielbasa, only 7 grams of fat and it's very tasty. I also add a can of black beans for extra fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Very good. Warm and Filling..  My changes while cooking: whole green and red pepper, 1 can fire roasted diced tomatoes, 1 can medium rotel, medium taco seasoning, + 1 can pinto beans (only because I don't care for sausage) Served with sour cream, cheddar, and pepperjack. The only reason we didn't give this a 5 star rating is that the rice was over cooked. I will probably reduce cooking time to 2 or 3 hours next time so rice maintains some of its' texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Great dish. I cut the portion to half the size and substituted half a Chicken for the Sausage but the flavor was all there. Great dish, I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
My husband ate this all on his own (between dinner and work lunch the next day). BIG hit, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Joslyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Port Gibson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I'm an experienced cook, and this was a rare disaster. I used fresh jalapenos instead of canned peppers, browned the kielbasa, and softened the onion and bell peppers before adding them to the pot. I then set the slow-cooker on low. . . and 4 1/2 hours later, I have a pile of absolute mush. The flavors are very nice indeed, but the result of this recipe was an inedible mass of starchy glop. I'm going to have to fish out the kielbasa and figure out another way to serve it. If you think the recipe sounds good, by all means go for it. . . but watch your cooker like a hawk, and start checking at three hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This recipe is so easy to make and the flavors blend well together. I cook it in the crockpot as indicated and I put them on tortilla's and make wraps. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
A great recipe to come home to after a long day. The fresh bell peppers really set the dish off for us and give the dish some firmer texture than the canned tomatoes, I doubled the amounts for both red and green and would not have enjoyed the dish as much if I used only 1/2 of each. I also thought the amount of sausage was a little low. If I make this as a side I may omit it entirely, but for a meal I'll use a pound and a half. I also used instant rice: added at the end of cooking, then turned the crockpot off and mixed a couple times until it absorbed enough juice and the grains tasted done. The neighbors mouths were watering from the scent - thanks for such a fresh and flavorful slow cooker dish :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Thought it needed something, but not sure what. I chose mild salsa and taco flavoring, so maybe I'll increase to medium or hot. Definitely will try it again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
The flavor was good but the rice was very mushy. I cooked it for 5 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States