Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Good recipe. I followed the recipe except that I used fresh garlic instead of garlic salt, and cooked the pasta separately. I think that soup improves with time, so I prepared it with everything except the pasta earlier in the day and let it mellow. Near serving time, I added the pasta and cooked until hot. It was easy and very flavorful. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Awesome soup! I only had ground sweet sausage, so I used that instead. I think next time I make this, and I will, I will use mezze or mini penne instead of bowtie, as it will stand up a little better. The recipe says "serves 6". Six elephants??? But I was glad for the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Delicious! I made it without pasta and used chicken sausage and fresh basil and parsley from the garden, with a few red pepper flakes as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This is my family's favorite soup. I make it with smoked sausage instead of italian sausage (tried it with italian the first time & it was good but smoked is 100x better) I also put in a can of corn at the end instead of cabbage just because I know my family will eat. They also don't like the chunky tomatoes so I usually substitute tomato sauce instead. I have put zucchini in this soup too & it was delish. With this soup you can afford to change out the vegetables for whatever your family prefers & it will still be amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Ok, not much flavor beyond the sausage itself...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
My husband and I both loved it. It has a very good flavor. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kathlene07
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Didn't have the right shape noodles, used what was on hand. Not sure if its because of the noodles used, or if thats how its supposed to be. But my noodles were too mushy. Next time I will cook for a shorter time. Also, I found that salt is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathlene07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Simple, easy to make, and delish! I added jalapeno and mushrooms, sprinkled parmesan on top, and the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Very nice. I used 2 (14 oz) cans of diced tomatoes. One was a fire roasted tomato and the other a diced tomato with fennel. I also added some extra fennel seed and dries thyme leaves to the soup for more flavor. I did not add the pasta at all. This was hearty enough without the pasta and I was trying to keep this low carb. Very tasty with some pecorino romano cheese on top. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Fantastic recipe! Even my seldom-adventurous brother had three bowls! I didn't have any canned tomatoes, so I substituted tomato sauce. Instead of garlic salt I added a clove of minced garlic. Just for kicks I also threw in red kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States