Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Maybe it was the sausage I used, but this wasn't nearly as flavorful as i'd hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I just made this a few days ago. This soup is awesome. We like spicy, so I used spicy italian sausage. I tried to freeze the leftovers for another night...I should have put leftovers in the fridge, because my hubby has asked for it every day this week. I guess that's what will be for dinner tonight! :-) Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This got such rave reviews that I went ahead and doubled it because I had alot of Italian sweet sausage to use up. My family has decided that they prefers hot sausage in just about everything. I have to say I was very disappointed. It was extremely bland. I don't know what I did wrong. The sausage didn't seem to flavor the broth and in an effort to get it to do so I ended up cooking it on low for hours. I added pizza sauce, hot Italian sausage that I cooked separately, crushed red pepper flakes and 4 cloves of garlic. It helped a lot but I still don't see what everyone is raving about. I didn't dare add pasta because I think that would have marginalized the flavor even further. Update: I originally gave this 3 stars because the broth became more flavorful with my alterations. Unfortunately, cooking the sausage for so long, while making the broth more flavorful, made the sausage tasteless and mealy. I think that the sausage is the problem and would probably resist any soup recipe calling for sausage in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Made as written...but omitted cabbage (I forgot). Husband enjoyed it more than I did...I felt it needed something but not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Delicious flavor!! :-) I substituted a bunch of cilantro instead of cabbage and it was a huge hit in my family!!!!! Yummmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This soup was excellent. I had 3 hungry construction workers over for supper (as well as my family members) and everyone enjoyed this soup. I didn't have bow tie pasta so I used spiral pasta instead. Also, I added 2 cloves of minced garlic in with the onion, Celery and Carrot step. It was delicious. I will definitely be making this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I used the little ball pasta (can't recall the name) and it was excellent. Almost like a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was a wonderful soup and fits with the cold winter chill months starting to make their way towards us. I substituted the cabbage for zucchini and added two teaspoons of Indonesian Hot Pepper Sauce for some extra zing. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
So good and easy to make! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This soup was phenomenal!! I used beef broth because its all I had, it was great even as left overs. I made it in the slow cooker so it was even easier to prepare than the directions and it turned out great! I think the next time I might try rice instead of the pasta because it had fallen apart and was mush by the time we ate it. Great soup! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States