Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This is a keeper. I'd say I made it as is, but I didn't. I used tortellini instead of bowtie pasta and cooked it separately as many have suggested. I added real garlic and regular salt and used fresh basil instead of dried. I have to say that the basil really made a different to the broth. I also used diced tomatoes and tomato sauce that I canned and a couple of pepper pellets I made from roasted peppers pureed and frozen in muffin tins (and later moved to freezer bags) and also added zucchini, because why not. I can't wait to eat it again tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I made this soup yesterday and I love it! Love at 1st taste. I did not change a thing...keep the org recipe. I did buy ground It sausage and made small meat balls. I really didnt want to use the links. It was perfect. You could also use any type of meatball really. I cant wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Overall, I liked this soup; the textures and flavors came together nicely, the whole apartment smelled lovely while it simmered, and it provided that sense of hearty satisfaction you hope for with a wintery soup. I can't give it five stars because it seemed to require a lot of modifications; the original recipe would be severely lacking in flavor. Here are the changes I made, based on our own personal preferences... I used a combination of spicy Italian chicken sausage and turkey meatballs for the meat to add flavor and reduce calories. I added the better part of a carton of sliced baby bellas when I put in the onions (1 white, 1 red). I added a little extra tomato sauce, greatly increased the basil, and added salt, garlic powder, chopped garlic, onion powder, cayenne pepper flakes, paprika, and poultry seasoning blend. I also added some red wine vinegar with the pasta, and towards the very end I included frozen corn, fresh spinach and several tablespoons of creme fraiche. I know I deviated a lot from the original, but I was very happy with the end result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
My family and I absolutely love this recipe!!!! delicious:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Great recipe, very savory. I did use scallions instead of onions, that is what I had on hand. Also, did not have tomatoes so I threw in a can of classico spicy tomato sauce. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riverrose05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grant, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Yum! Even better the next day. I need to remember to make this early in the day and reheat for dinner. Lets the flavors meld better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Very good. Made two changes, I used spicy Italian sausage and spinach instead of cabbage. Very hearty. Served with sour dough bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Delicious! We all loved this, and my husband couldn't stop raving about it. I'll definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I was planning to make sausage, peppers and onions for dinner since I had some leftover sausages from the day before, but I thought a nice soup would be perfect for such a cold and windy winter day. I googled "sausage soup" and this recipe came up. I had all of the ingredients on hand, so I made it. I'm glad I did. I sliced the sausages thinly, an obvious step I guess, but not on the recipe. I sauteed them in olive oil and made the rest exactly as the recipe calls for. The results were outstanding. I served it with some homemade bread and with the garlic salt on the side. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Douglaston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Good recipe. I followed the recipe except that I used fresh garlic instead of garlic salt, and cooked the pasta separately. I think that soup improves with time, so I prepared it with everything except the pasta earlier in the day and let it mellow. Near serving time, I added the pasta and cooked until hot. It was easy and very flavorful. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States