Sausage Smothered in Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2000
Although I tried it with the green cabbage, this was a GREAT recipe, quick and easy and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2001
Really delicious! I had been looking for a recipe to approximate some "rotlkohl" that I had at a German restaurant that was flavored with apples. This tasted even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
This was terrific. I froze the leftovers and just had it for lunch over some quinoa...it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
Turned out great and was sooo easy. I think I will try to season the cabbage a bit for some family members but I liked it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
A wonderful comfort food dish. Perfect for those cold winter Minnesota nights!! I followed the directions explicitly, and wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Plainfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Milaca, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
I often find myself searching for recipes with the ingredients I have on hand...I had green cabbage, red onion and bratwurst. Those were the substitutions I made. Otherwise I followed this recipe precisely and it was absolutely FANTASTIC! I served it over mashed potatoes. I'm going to go pick up some purple cabbage and try this recipe as it states. Oh & I was a bit hesitant about adding the 3rd tsp of salt but glad I did. Thank you grandma of Karen for this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Oberlin Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
This is such wonderful feel good food. My 18 month old cried after he cleared the bowl. My 5 year old picked out the cabbage but liked the rest and my husband went back for thirds. I think this is a great meal because it is so simple, flavourful and would go great with alot of sides. I made a plain white rice with mushrooms which went very well. I will make this again for sure. This is also a meal you can make ahead, and put in a casserole for later. Great for when you just want to come home and pop it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
Deeeelicious!!!!! Didn't change a thing - just added a little more black pepper since I like spicy. Followed another reviewer' suggestion and served it over mashed potatoes (made garlic mashed potatoes). Great combination - the leftovers are great too. If there are any!!!! Thanks Karen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
I love this one! I have made it several times now and it's great to bring to work for lunch too. When I made it today I used Hebrew National Polish Sausage instead of Kielbasa and I also added 1/2 tsp. of carraway seed...it came out great again! It's great with whole grain german style mustard on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
This was probably the best recipe I've tried from this site and I've tried a lot of them. The only thing I changed was I added a little more water in the 1st 15 minutes because it looked like the 1/2 cup had steamed away and, I used bratwurst instead of keilbasa. Thanks Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, New York, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Rhode Island, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States