Sausage Smothered in Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I thought this was very yummy, but I just love sausage and cabbage. My very picky husband even loved this. We froze a bit of it for later and it thawed very well and tasted even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lina
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This was a very tasty recipe. To make it a little healthier, I used lean smoked turkey sausage, only about 2 tsp of salt, doubled the cabbage and onion and added about 2 cups raw spinach (great color and didn't really change the flavor). The flavors all come together really well and the apple doesn't make it too sweet. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
FAB-U-LOUS!!! We used fresh polish sausage instead. I cooked it most of the way along with the onions and then added it all to the cabbage to finish cooking. I think the salt amount depends on your sausage. We ate it over mashed potatoes and it was GREAT! My German hubby loved it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Good, a little more flavor would be good. I followed other advice and added some caraway, and used turkey sausage. Not good as leftovers however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shenandoah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This is now my favorite recipe. I use whatever cabbage I have on hand and it is always good. I did end up cutting the salt in half, and I love salt! We eat it with potatoes on the side, covered in the extra juice. Thanks for a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This is a very good recipe. I did add caraway seed, and I used apple cider vinegar instead of the white wine vinegar. My husband and I both enjoyed the meal. I did as many other reviewers cut back on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I used normal cabbage instead of red one as I had it on hand. I omitted onion as I did not have it. It still tastes good and my German husband LOVES this! Next time, I would reduce salt and add some more apple. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKIKO10028

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nakano, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Great German dish. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This was a wonderful treat! I was a bit afraid at first and wondered what my fussy husband would say - he loved it and wants me to make again soon! Only lessened the amount of salt due to our tastes, otherwise great as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Cox Martinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Easy and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenMick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States