Sausage Smothered in Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Delicious! I used turkey kielbasa and eliminated the butter (we're on Weight Watchers, and every little bit helps), and it was still fantastic. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
So good! This was an incredibly easy meal to put together on a busy weekday night...to make it healthier I did use turkey kielbasa (delicious) but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I think it tasted even better - more sweet, less vinegary - the next day when we fought over the leftovers! And don't skip the dijon mustard and pickle! Great cold weather food:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
We had leftover red cabbage from fish tacos so I came here looking for something to do with it. Based on other reviews, I decreased the salt significantly, but stuck to the recipe otherwise. I used a crisp Granny Smith apple which added just the right amount of tart/ tangy flavor to the dish. My 4 and 7-year-old daughters thought it was "ok", but my husband and I liked it. Served it with mashed potatoes and asparagus and of course, Sriracha hot sauce on the side. We eat many meals with Sriracha ;-) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I made this with a Pink Lady apple which I thought would be sweet enough, but I ended up adding a packet of Splenda to the mix. If I were to make this again I would probably add a splash of apple juice instead of lemon. I'm not a huge fan of caraway seeds but a wee pinch would add some extra flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Great story...my husband was doing anexperiment with red cabbage for a Chemistry class, and so we had almost a whole head of cabbage left and I hate to throw out food...so I turned to allrecipes.com as I do with all my leftover needs. This was a fast and easy recipe. I thin sliced the cabbage instead of shredding it. Sweeter than I expected, but very nice and easy. Also freezes well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Oh this was such perfect comfort food! I used hot italian turkey sausage and served with mashed potatoes. Leftovers were fantastic and freeze beautifully too.I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This recipe is on our short-list of favorite Allrecipes submissions. Comfort food at it's best! Serve it with spaetzel or potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I thought this was very yummy, but I just love sausage and cabbage. My very picky husband even loved this. We froze a bit of it for later and it thawed very well and tasted even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lina
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This was a very tasty recipe. To make it a little healthier, I used lean smoked turkey sausage, only about 2 tsp of salt, doubled the cabbage and onion and added about 2 cups raw spinach (great color and didn't really change the flavor). The flavors all come together really well and the apple doesn't make it too sweet. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
FAB-U-LOUS!!! We used fresh polish sausage instead. I cooked it most of the way along with the onions and then added it all to the cabbage to finish cooking. I think the salt amount depends on your sausage. We ate it over mashed potatoes and it was GREAT! My German hubby loved it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States