Sausage Smothered in Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Delicious! The only thing I have to suggest is that the best type of apple to use for this is a granny smith as it takes it much longer to turn to mush. Very easy recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Way too sweet with the apples. Next time I would add some green cabbage and maybe double the sausage....will be trying again with those changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Wow, brought me back to grandma's house. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Delicious!!! Maybe the best cabbage I've ever had. I added some red potatoes and I'm glad I did! This was the first time I've ever had cooked red cabbage. I will have it often, now. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Wonderful flavor and texture. I did use shredded cabbage and loved it. I at a huge serving at supper and then worked on the leftovers all the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
cooking 1 hour and more water seemed better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ECampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Lolo, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This was very good. I took it to a church dinner because my family doesn't like this kind of dish and there was none left. I liked the combination of flavors, and will try it again with regular green cabbage. I did reduce the salt to 2 tsp. and used rice vinegar. I added the apples to the onions when sauteing and they turned out perfect. I used some ring sausage that a friend gave us and have no idea what kind it was. It was pretty spicy and was the perfect complement to the cabbage. Thanks for the recipe. I'm always looking for new recipes with healthy ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I make this every year at our annual Oktoberfest. It's very good. I do not put the meat in it but serve it on the side. :) it is well received by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Louise Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Demotte, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Very tasty. Thank you for this recipe. I went a little crazy on the healthy food at the store the other day and found myself at home with a red cabbage I had no idea what to do with. Even the skeptical fiance is enjoying it. I took another reviewer's advice and sauteed the onions, apples, and sausage all together, then threw them in the with the cabbage to cook a little while longer. The apples came out tender, but not mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Mmmm made this with regular sausages as we don't have any smoked and added the apple at the end to try and save the texture of it as suggested by another reviewer. The sausage, once sliced, fried and added to the 'kettle' (pan with lid), tated devine. But sadly the apple didn't hold it shape as planned but then I don't think was a bad thing at all as it gave a sweetness to counteract the sour lemon throughout the dish. I also used cider vinegar as that what we had. Let's just say that when our veg box gave us another red cabbage this week, I've gone out and bought some sausage to make this again. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ButtercupBento

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States