Sausage Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I prefer cooking "the old-fashioned way," so I prepped this recipe on the stovetop and then baked in the oven for an hour. The kielbasa made a nice change from traditional ham. I thought the flavor needed an extra boost - I'm used to my mom's recipe, which uses cream of mushroom soup - but my family loved it and kept coming back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This was really good! Altough my DH doesn't like potatoes microwaved, so I had to bake it. I baked it at 375F covered for 30 minutes, and then added the sausage and cooked for another 30 minutes. It was the first time I made scalloped potatoes, I wont be buying boxed potatoes anymore!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
family loved it. I put shredded sharp cheddar cheese on top and then baked it an additional 25 minutes at 400 degrees. It browned the cheese and made a nice addition to this good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This was easy and deslish! But I had to add more salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder and cayenne because the potato mixture was bland. I baked the potatoes at 375 for 35 minutes then cooked my sausage on the stove & added it to the potatoes. I sprinkled cheddar on top and let the dish bake for an additional 20 minutes. I served with garlic roasted brussel sprouts. I was going to eat the leftovers for lunch but we ate it all! I served with garlic roasted sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This is terrific. Next time instead of chopping the onions I will quarter and slice. I topped with cheddar cheese after it was through cooking and let in melt in the 5 minutes it had to rest. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
WOW! This is an awesome recipe! I made a couple of adjustments to suit our tastes, but LOVED this recipe. Even my 5 year old daughter who can be a picky eater at times loved it. I did make a slightly larger batch, added a few spices such as garlic, paprika, and cavendars, and added processed cheese to make them taste more like scalloped potatoes. I had several packages of polish sausage in the freezer that I had bought on sale and like to keep for a quick fix meal and am so glad I came across this recipe. I also cooked it in the oven on 375 for a couple of hours while waiting for my husband to get in from school. We served it with seasoned sweet corn and homemade biscuits and it was delish!! Thanks so much for the awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedbrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Very tasty. My kids gave it the best reviews they've ever given for a recipe on this website. I will defintitely make it again. I loved the idea of pre-heating the sausage in the microwave to get rid of some of the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This was very good. I changed slightly, based on preference. I added cheddar to the sauce and added one package of thawed, well drained spinach along with the kielbasa! Thanks for the fabulous recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Excellent flavor! My parents, whose idea of spice is black pepper, were a big fan. No leftovers here! :-) This will be repeated in the future. Maybe try it with turkey sausage/kielbasa or a lower fat/lower sodium sausage. Liked preheating in the microwave to get some of the fat out of the sausage. Mmmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Bumphrey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This was pretty good. I added cheddar cheese at the end that I think it needed. I only gave it 4 stars b/c I think I could've made this almost as quickly in the oven. Like another reviewer said you have to babysit it too much - in and out of the microwave too often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States