Sausage Sauerkraut Supper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
This was very good! I am making again this week and I am hoping that everyone will love as much as we all did the first time!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Dodds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I thought this was really good. I followed the recipe as closely as I could. I did make one addition. I diced up an apple and added it to the onion and garlic step. My grocery store didn't have fresh polish sausage, so I used fully cooked smoked sausage. I also used bagged sauerkraut from the refrigerated section. That's just a personal preference. I did use 1 1/2 cups of white wine. I think that adds a subtle sweetness. It was simple to prepare. My wife loved it too. And as a bonus... it's great cold, the next day right out of the fridge. Thanks for sharing this one. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GERRYG58

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
So good! I subbed veggie sausage and used veggie broth to make it vegetarian. Next time I think I may try using beer instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
good stuff-enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I made this simple, tasty dish 2 nights ago and my husband is still raving about it. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This is the best and easiest Sauerkraut recipe I have ever made. The only thing I did different was to use the juices from the Sauerkraut in my chicken broth because I like Sauerkraut with a little bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Very easy to make and had very good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Yesterday was a cold, windy, rainy day, and this looked like a really good meal for that kind of day - and I was right!. As I was short for time, I didn't brown the sausage and onions before layering everything in the slow cooker (onions, carrots, garlic, sausage, potatoes, a pinch of red pepper flakes, sauerkraut). I used only about a pound of sausage, cut into about 1-1 1/2 " pieces, and I used the sauerkraut that comes packaged in a plastic bag in the refrigerated section of the store; I find that it isn't as salty as the stuff that comes in the can. Since my family really likes the tartness of sauerkraut, I didn't rinse and drain - just dumped the whole bag in and spread it fairly evenly over the top of the other ingredients. I didn't have any white wine opened, so just used chicken stock - but probably only about 1/3 cup, since I had already added the liquid that was on the sauerkraut. I cooked for 8 hours on low, but probably could have only cooked 7 (in case anybody is really pressed for time). My hubby said that it really hit the spot - I was surprised by how mild it turned out, considering I had used the sauerkraut juice, and added the red pepper flakes, as suggested by another reviewer. Serve with horseradish and/or spicy mustard for those who need a little more zip. Thanks for a flavorful, easy winter meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This was really, really good. I put the browned sausage on the bottom of the crock-pot, layered sauerkraut, carrots & onions on top and covered all with a can of sauerkraut and a can of beer. I served over mashed potatoes and it couldn't have tasted any better. I did follow some of the other suggestions and added hot pepper flakes in the middle layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debster

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I enjoyed this recipe. Mine turned out fairly spicy, but it was good. I used the white wine in mine. Next time, I think I'll try chicken broth instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCarrie

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States