Sausage Sauerkraut Supper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
This was very good! I am making again this week and I am hoping that everyone will love as much as we all did the first time!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Dodds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I thought this was really good. I followed the recipe as closely as I could. I did make one addition. I diced up an apple and added it to the onion and garlic step. My grocery store didn't have fresh polish sausage, so I used fully cooked smoked sausage. I also used bagged sauerkraut from the refrigerated section. That's just a personal preference. I did use 1 1/2 cups of white wine. I think that adds a subtle sweetness. It was simple to prepare. My wife loved it too. And as a bonus... it's great cold, the next day right out of the fridge. Thanks for sharing this one. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GERRYG58

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
So good! I subbed veggie sausage and used veggie broth to make it vegetarian. Next time I think I may try using beer instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
good stuff-enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I made this simple, tasty dish 2 nights ago and my husband is still raving about it. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This is the best and easiest Sauerkraut recipe I have ever made. The only thing I did different was to use the juices from the Sauerkraut in my chicken broth because I like Sauerkraut with a little bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Very easy to make and had very good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Yesterday was a cold, windy, rainy day, and this looked like a really good meal for that kind of day - and I was right!. As I was short for time, I didn't brown the sausage and onions before layering everything in the slow cooker (onions, carrots, garlic, sausage, potatoes, a pinch of red pepper flakes, sauerkraut). I used only about a pound of sausage, cut into about 1-1 1/2 " pieces, and I used the sauerkraut that comes packaged in a plastic bag in the refrigerated section of the store; I find that it isn't as salty as the stuff that comes in the can. Since my family really likes the tartness of sauerkraut, I didn't rinse and drain - just dumped the whole bag in and spread it fairly evenly over the top of the other ingredients. I didn't have any white wine opened, so just used chicken stock - but probably only about 1/3 cup, since I had already added the liquid that was on the sauerkraut. I cooked for 8 hours on low, but probably could have only cooked 7 (in case anybody is really pressed for time). My hubby said that it really hit the spot - I was surprised by how mild it turned out, considering I had used the sauerkraut juice, and added the red pepper flakes, as suggested by another reviewer. Serve with horseradish and/or spicy mustard for those who need a little more zip. Thanks for a flavorful, easy winter meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This was really, really good. I put the browned sausage on the bottom of the crock-pot, layered sauerkraut, carrots & onions on top and covered all with a can of sauerkraut and a can of beer. I served over mashed potatoes and it couldn't have tasted any better. I did follow some of the other suggestions and added hot pepper flakes in the middle layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debster

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I enjoyed this recipe. Mine turned out fairly spicy, but it was good. I used the white wine in mine. Next time, I think I'll try chicken broth instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCarrie

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States