Sausage Sauerkraut Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
I remember having sausage sauerkraut balls when I was a kid. When I couldn't find my recipe I used this one. Later I found that old recipe and made it as well. This recipe won hands down. I made this recipe over the holidays and my family really enjoyed it. The recipe states it makes "8" balls but I think it should read "80". I made mine too large and still made fifty. Make sure to let the mixture cool well before trying to form the balls. The balls do well in a crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
In reading other reviews that stated you couldn't taste the sauerkraut due to the spices in the sausage, this can be esaily remedied by only draining the sauerkraut half way, and DON'T rinse...this will add much more of the kraut flavor, if that is what you like. Also, if the extra liquid from the kraut juice causes your balls to be too moist (haha), then simply add an additional TB or 2 of flour. These had a really great flavor, and if made properly, are GREAT!!! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
These were pretty good. I was a little disappointed that they didn't have a strong sauerkraut flavor, but that was my expectation. I did use ground beef instead of the pork, and added a little garlic. Also they were a little dry but that may be my fault. My husband thought they were great, and my 14 month old ate them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
I made these sauerkraut balls for a New Year's Eve party and they were an absolute hit! I added a little garlic to mine and the next time I make them, I will add a little more sauerkraut, but other than that, this one is the best I've ever tasted and it's so easy! Since we entertain from time to time, I will make up a batch or two, bake them, shrink wrap and freeze them for when company unexpectedly shows up! Thank you, Diana, so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
I was rather disappointed with this recipe. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't great either. To me they taste like sausage balls. I couldn't even taste the sauerkraut, even though I added 50% more kraut than the recipe called for. I think they would probably taste better using a ground pork/ground beef mixture so that the kraut taste isn't overpowered by the spices in the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURA-ANN
Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This is the closest to the original recipe of sauerkraut balls, that I received from the originator (McGarvy's Boat Drive-In in Vermilion, Oh outside of Cleveland. Only a portion of ground ham is mssing along with the sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I make these annually for New Year's Eve/Day. They're a lot of work and mess, but I think they're worth it. To bump up the sauerkraut flavor I save the liquid from the drained kraut and mix that with the eggs instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Not bad for an appetizer, but I don't know if I'd make them again--they're just a lot of steps. If I did, I'd make sure to cook the sausage mixture ahead of time. I'm just an impatient cook. The reason some cooks didn't like this recipe is the reason I thought it was fine: you don't really taste the sauerkraut. That's good for me bc I don't like it. Instead of chopping, I plopped it in the food processor until it was mostly chopped. That worked well enough. The balls were a bit difficult to form, and I was getting tired and hungry, so I used my medium cookie scoop to help the process along. I squished the mix into the scoop as hard as I could, then I shaped into a ball the rest of the way. I got large balls that way. I dipped mine in sweet and sour sauce, and bf dipped his in bbq sauce. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
These were good and easy to make, my only question is, can you freeze these after cooking, to serve later? I would like to make them for a party at a later date. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This recipe is missing CREAM CHEESE. 1- 8oz. block of cream cheese. Also salt and pepper. Our family recipe does not include milk. This are even better deep fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States