Sausage Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Really good. I used regular store-brand mild Italian sausage, skipped the chicken, and diced my own potatoes. I also used regular chicken broth. I mashed up some of the potatoes to make the soup a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Had a package of Italian sausage and was looking for something different to do with it. This soup was the perfect solution. Everyone really enjoyed the soup. Instead of pre diced potatoes I used fresh; peeled & diced them myself. I did not have fresh parsley so I used dried. Worked just as well. Added lots of garlic, as we all love garlic. I did not have any kale so I subbed fresh spinach. I put the spinach in as I was turning the burner down to warm and the spinach wilted and was a perfect addition to the soup. A very good, filling soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mee-Maw

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Followed as close as I could without buying tons of prepackaged food. I left out the chicken, it doesn't really need it. I bought Mild Italian Pork sausage and took the casings off. I peeled and diced 3 white potatoes. Super easy and delious. The kids even ate it and didn't complain about the heat from the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I've been making this soup for 5 years! My husband and I LOVE, love, LOVE it! I always double the recipe to share with family and friends. It's a hit...known as "THAT SOUP"! The ONLY changes I make is NOT adding oil in the pot when cooking the sausage...it really doesn't need it! And, I also use fresh chicken breast, which cuts down the sodium. My husband raves about this soup (man of few words)to his co-workers and wants me to prepare a big pot for them this winter! If you haven't tried it...you've got to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Sensational!! This soup is just fantastic. I know people get annoyed when we highly rate recipes and then mention all the changes we make, but I thought two meats in the soup was a little much so I actually replaced the chicken with cannellini beans. That's all. Delicious! A great way to eat kale if the idea of it scares you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHNORMAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA
Living In: Benton City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
We loves this soup - I did use homemade stock and diced my own potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I used mild Italian sausage, didn't add pepper, salt or chicken and we all loved it! My hard-to-please husband and 2 year old included (though he wouldn't eat the kale).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winthrop, Washington, USA
Living In: Twisp, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This was very tasty. The zuppa toscana soup at Olive Garden is my all time favorite so I was more than excited to try this one out. I took the advice of another recipe and added bacon and garlic. I also diced up 3 large potatoes instead of using frozen. I never really favored the kale so I used fresh spinach instead. Turned out great! Definitely one of my favorites! UPDATE: I do prefer the kale over the spinach I just use a little less kale than called for. Still so delicious! Also be very particular about what sausage you use because it makes all the difference in the flavor. I learned that the hard way. The first two times I loved the soup. when I made it again I used an off-brand that was on sale, I really did not like the outcome of the soup. Then I made it again with the same sausages I used the first two times and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyO
Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Very good and easy! Added no chicken. Used spinach, not kale, fresh Italian parsley. Added cooked rice to thicken it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Great for anyone with a cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States