Sausage Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I used mild Italian sausage, didn't add pepper, salt or chicken and we all loved it! My hard-to-please husband and 2 year old included (though he wouldn't eat the kale).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winthrop, Washington, USA
Living In: Twisp, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Had a package of Italian sausage and was looking for something different to do with it. This soup was the perfect solution. Everyone really enjoyed the soup. Instead of pre diced potatoes I used fresh; peeled & diced them myself. I did not have fresh parsley so I used dried. Worked just as well. Added lots of garlic, as we all love garlic. I did not have any kale so I subbed fresh spinach. I put the spinach in as I was turning the burner down to warm and the spinach wilted and was a perfect addition to the soup. A very good, filling soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mee-Maw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Really good. I used regular store-brand mild Italian sausage, skipped the chicken, and diced my own potatoes. I also used regular chicken broth. I mashed up some of the potatoes to make the soup a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Yummy flavor in this soup. I didn't use the chicken...instead I used a can of cannelli beans. I also used 3 fresh potatoes diced rather than frozen. I also added a can of cream of celery soup to thicken a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I've been making this soup for 5 years! My husband and I LOVE, love, LOVE it! I always double the recipe to share with family and friends. It's a hit...known as "THAT SOUP"! The ONLY changes I make is NOT adding oil in the pot when cooking the sausage...it really doesn't need it! And, I also use fresh chicken breast, which cuts down the sodium. My husband raves about this soup (man of few words)to his co-workers and wants me to prepare a big pot for them this winter! If you haven't tried it...you've got to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
We loves this soup - I did use homemade stock and diced my own potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This was a little too spicey for my 10 yearold, but my other kids loved it, 6,8,12. If I were to make it again I would add less red pepper or omit it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Loved this Soup!!! Made all sorts of changes to it to make it with what I had, but it turned out great! I used Jennie-O Turkey Hot Italian Sausage, fresh Red Potatoes, diced chicken breast (instead of pre-cooked)... and I didn't have kale, so I skipped it (which my hubby didn't mind) All these changes cut the calories from 667 to 250!!! Oh... and it was SUPER filling!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Followed as close as I could without buying tons of prepackaged food. I left out the chicken, it doesn't really need it. I bought Mild Italian Pork sausage and took the casings off. I peeled and diced 3 white potatoes. Super easy and delious. The kids even ate it and didn't complain about the heat from the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Very good soup! I think I basically followed the recipe as a guideline It was really good, kinda spicy and the hubs asked me to make it again which is always a good sign!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States