Sausage-Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
5 stars for simplicity and flavor, 4 stars for grease overload! I attempted to cut back on the amount of grease, thanks to other reviews. I like my sausage sliced and pan fried, then placed on paper towels to absorb the grease (I also dab the sausage with paper towels). However, this didn't do the trick once the sausage, potatoes, and cheese were combined. Next time I will cook the potatoes and milk first, then add pan fried sausage and cheese on top, baking just long enough to melt the cheese. In addition to the dill and caraway seed, I sprinkled seasoned salt and garlic powder over the potatoes, and will do this the next time I make it. My hubby LOVED this dish! We'll eat this regularly, as long as I can cut back on the grease...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookTo$ave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nikki Ervin-Huhn
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This was very yummy and easy to make. My husband said you will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Very, very good. I use the turkey kielbasa, eliminate the caraway seed (I never have it on hand), and use sharp cheddar. Turns out delicious every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Great comfort food dish. I used a glass dish sprayed with Pam covered with foil instead of the foil packet. Like other reviewers I sliced turkey kielbasa and layered with potatoes and an onion. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This recipe is GREAT! My crew loved it!! To make it a even better I added onions, green and red peppers, minced garlic and diced tomatoes. I also seasoned the potatoes with salt, pepper, garlic and onion powder along with the dill. Definitely will make this over and over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia LeoDiamond Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Skipped the caraway seeds, just didn't have any on hand. Tasted good just seemed a little watery. Wasn't as eye appealing as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Tried it this morning. Easy to fix and yummy! By using the aluminum foil, no cleanup. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Very easy to make! I just used a basic 9x13 pan and sprayed non-stick cooking spray before putting in the ingredients. No problems with food burning or sticking to the bottom. I just covered the dish with foil and it turned out great! It disappeared quickly so I know I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
You dont have to mess with the foil, just spray your pan and cover with foil. Unless you slice the potatoes real thin you need to bake it longer, about 1 1/2 hours. this is like augratin potatoes with sausage. I used lean turkey sausage and it was NOT greasy. The sausage got overdone by the time the potatoes were tender. Cheddar cheese doesn't really melt that well but I put more on during the last 5 minutes and it melted over the top. edible but not worth the time and ingredients to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
A tasty and easy recipe. Everyone in the family seemed to enjoy it. I cut the sausage into pieces instead of cutting it in half long ways. The bite size pieces seemed to work well for me. I also used turkey sausage to cut down on the cholesterol. Even with these little modifications it came out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony Walls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States