Sausage-Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I get soo hungry when I smell this casserole cooking! I've always had trouble with the foil leaking (end up scrubbing off burned residue), so this time I just sprayed the pan with cooking spray and covered tightly with aluminum foil and it turned out great! It's even faster to prepare this way too! I also added about 1 c. sliced baby carrots and a thinly-sliced onion for more color and flavor; my husband said he liked it even better this way. We always use turkey kielbasa (for lower fat), and I slice it into bite-sized pieces before cooking (easier to serve).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mosheim, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Agree with Christine in that it seemed more like sausages and potatoes with cheese than a casserole, but it was still tasty. I needed to cook extra time as well, don't know if thinner potato slices would have cooked faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
The sausage and potatoes cooked and tasted fine, but cheddar cheese just doesn't hold together well when cooked this way -- I should have realized before I even started. This wasn't so much a casserole as some hot dogs, potatoes, and separated cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
You really HAVE to try this one. I served this for a brunch, and someone brought over a version of ham and cheese casserole too. This recipe was soooo good that everybody ate this one up and barely touched the other one. Will definitely make again. I skipped the caraway seed, by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Great flavor but was greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARKABLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I made this tonight in a hurry and didn't really read through until it was in the oven. However it was splendid and came out just fabulous. I used a mandoline to slice the potatoes really thin and sliced the Polish kielbasa into bite sized pieces instead of leaving in lengths. I started by layering some of the potatoes followed by kielbasa then cheese then layered again with potatoes and so on. Finished off with milk and seasonings, so I guess I did it lagsana style and it still worked out. Kids loved it and all hubby could say was mmmm the whole time he was eating. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This was SO good! I skipped the caraway seeds. I added onions. I will boil or saute the kielbasa next time to reduce the grease a little, but it wasn't excessive without that step. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
eh...we didnt care for this so much...i dont know if i did something wrong but i had to soak greese up with a paper towel before serving... i made it just as stated for once ...i did use beef kielbasa - maybe that was my mistake? the cheese was obliterated..it tasted ok tho...just way to greasy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMDAILEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I made some of the same changes other reviewers made. I added a layer of onions and more cheese. I also added a few spices like garlic salt, etc to the potatoes. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
This has become a regular on our meal rotations. i use dill seed instead of dill weed, and skimp on the caraway seeds - just not one of my favorite spices. I don't measure the cheese b/c I like a lot of it, so I just cover it really well. Actually, I don't really measure anything - it's such an easy recipe that you can easily tweak it to your liking. Everyone in our family likes it and the leftovers are great, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States