Sausage-Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
AMAZING! I need to make a double batch next time! Definetly greasy, so I am going to have to do something about that! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Wow--fantastic recipe. My family loved it. Used both kielbasa and some smoked sausage had on hand and didn't have the caraway seeds, but didn't miss them. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Since I only feed me, I cut way back on amounts. I had sausage w/jalapeno, small red potato, no caraway seed, but it was delicious. I seldom find a recipe this good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This got rave reviews from my husband and two kids, no small feat. It reminded me of potato/sausage dishes we enjoyed on a trip to Switzerland. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This was pretty good, it needed more sausage to make it a meal, otherwise it is just a side dish. My wife and I really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Wonderful, hearty, and delicious on a cold winter's day. Use lots of potatoes, include some sweet potatoes, don't bother with lining the pan with foil - just grease it. It can be a bit greasy, but that may depend on the type of sausage you put in. I also cut mine in chunks as other reviewers have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I had some extra kielbasa left over from our cookout yesterday & was searching for a meal to make w/ it. I did skip the foil on bottom and just sprayed w/ olive oil & I also left out the 2 spices. Was a hit, even w/ my pickiest child. Will make again for sure, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I made a few changes to serve a bigger family and to suit my personal preference, but I can tell this recipe would have been just as good as written. Because I'm serving a large family, I used 3x as many potatoes, double the cheese, but only 1 lb of sausage. I left out the caraway seed, because I hate it, but I added 2 cups of saurkraut and a couple tablespoons of brown mustard. Also, since I added mustard, I left out the pepper. I poured a little less than 1c milk over the whole, which fit into a 9x13 glass casserole dish just fine. I used the greased, glass dish to skip the foil step. It's just now gone into the oven, but my brothers are making enthusiastic noises, so I imagine it will be a success. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cali Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I thought this would be a hit with my family but it wasn't. there are changes I'd make if I ever made this again. I put this in a regular pan and it worked fine. There was a lot of grease from the cheese and kielbasa. Next time I'd boil the kielbasa to remove most of the grease. I have a hard time cooking sliced potatoes so I chunked mine. I eliminated the dill weed but next time I'd also eliminate the caraway seed too. I added seasoned salt and Lemon Pepper. I liked the idea of not using a cream soup (i.e. Cream of Mushroom) but I'd make a lot of changes too. Next time I would either cut the cooking time in half or else not cover the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newivi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I'm sure by the time my 2 little kids got done, there was twice as much cheese in the casserole dish as there needed to be. The kids loved the kielbasa (which was quite a surprise), but wouldn't touch the potatoes, which my husband and I were all too happy to eat for them! This dish was good for our family...I thought there would have been leftovers, but there weren't any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States