Sausage Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Hubby liked it more than me . will add green peppers next time. it was nice and easy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I make this casserole often, except I always add a bit if crushed red pepper to it. I also omit the salt and only use a half pound of the pork sausage because I think the original recipe asks for too much. With these small changes it's fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I've made this several times and we always love it! The first time I made it I didn't have any ground sausage but I did have smoked sausage, so I sliced that up and used that instead because we loved it so much the first time I've always used smoked sausage since, although I'm sure it would be equally as good with ground sausage. I also always add diced onion and depending on what I have on hand I sometimes add diced bell pepper and mushrooms. I decided I wanted to make this for Sunday lunch after church the other day but knew I didn't want to wait for it to bake in the oven after we got home. So I decided to try it in the crockpot. I doubled the recipe using cream of mushroom and cream of chicken soup and mixed the soup, milk, salt and pepper together in a bowl, then sprayed the pot with cooking spray and layered the ingredients; potatoes, onion, mushrooms, sausage, cheese, 1/2 the soup mixture, then repeated the layering with the other half of the ingredients. Cooked it on high for 4 hours and the house smelled wonderful when we got home from church! My family, who don't normally like potato casseroles, didn't leave any left overs! I will definitely be making it this way again, although I may try using a disposable crockpot liner bag for even easier clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Big hit with my family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Love this all in one breakfast/brunch dish!!! I first had it at a cafeteria and was soooo impressed with the taste that I hunted the internet soley based on what ingredients I could taste. This recipe was it!!!! Got the right one on the first try! Came out wonderfully. Next time I will try frozen hashbrowns for faster cooking. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I made this for my son, and this is now his favourite thing to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GnarlyCow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I think this is fantastic! I cut calories by only using 1/2 lb sausage and I believe it's still really meaty. I add garlic powder and a few dashes of hot sauce. What a great, easy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendybird82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I printed this months and months ago and finally made it and let me say WOW....it was really good. I didnt think it actually would turn out but it did. worth trying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This is delicious!!! I used garlic sausage cut into coins and then quartered. I browned it to give it some added flavor. I added some frozen green beans. I sauteed the onion with garlic and then added the green beans to thaw them. I did not add any salt, well I added a little garlic powder and just a little seasoning salt. I was so worried it would be a gloopy mess, but it was awesome! Reminded of me of scalloped potatoes but with added deliciousness!! Try it, its total comfort food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
We liked this, very homey and comforting. I used cream of celery soup. It looked like it wasn't going to be enough liquid, but it was. I'd use cream of chicken next time (or a homemade bechamel sauce with a lot of garlic). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States