Sausage, Potato and Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I subbed hot turkey Italian sausage, omitted the pepper flakes, and used Yukon gold potatoes. These were my only alterations from the recipe. As far as the directions go, my potatoes were done in 15 minutes, and I did not add any milk or half and half until the end of the cooking, when I allowed them to heat through, but not boil. This has an amazing aroma as it cooks, and it is a hearty, satisfying soup. Do not be concerned by the lack of added salt, because the broth and sausage are salty enough to flavor the whole batch. DH and DS approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I have made this soup but not from this EXACT recipe. It's pretty much the same, except I added a lot more kale. Like the other reviewer, I wouldn't add the milk/half & half til after the potatoes and kale have cooked. It would curdle and I'm always a clutz on the stove top with boiling (I have a 2 yo, that helps distract me :) Love that I'm getting all the vitamins and yumminess in one bowl! Hubby could have done without the kale, but he also would eat bacon by the pound if he could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cappy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This soup is great and I've been making this for twenty five years. I don't use ground sausage, but use Kielbasa Sausage and use more kale than indicated. My family loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat5145
Living In: Mill Creek, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Good flavor. Substituted chicken sausage, 2% milk and fat free half and half, only 2 cups. Very thin, so next time will use the full fat half and half and more chicken sausage. Followed suggestion of others to add milk products at end and heat thru.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Great recipe...I like to add leeks and a bit more kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I just fixed this and it is sooooo YUMMO!!! I did take the advice in other reviews and add the dairy and the kale in the last few mins. Oh and I did sauté the onions as well as some mushrooms in with the sausage a few mins before I added the chicken broth and potatoes!!! Can go wrong with this soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This was fantastic! I followed the recipe and it was great. So far I've made it three times since. Once I used those round red potatoes. It was delicious. Another time, I only had 2% milk and regular chicken broth. Still delicious. Last month, I stuffed as much kale as my Dutch oven could handle...still wonderful. This is my absolute favorite recipe. You can add little things or leave as-is and you create a wonderfully, comfort soup. Next time I'll add a picture. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Oh how I love a good soup! And this one is no exception. The only change I made was that I used skim milk because that's all I had and if it made any huge difference, it didn't seem to matter. I did saute my onion in with the sausage, but that was mostly because I didn't really read the instructions. Oh and I used collard greens instead of kale. So I guess I actually made several changes. Anyhoo, it was great. Next time, I'll add more greens, whatever kind I'm using, because there's plenty of room for it and they're so good for you. But there will be lots of next times for this soup as it is now in my permanent "keep" file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Ferguson Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rutherfordton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I LOVE this soup - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann127

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I made this soup today and it was fabulous. I didn't have half and half so I substituted heavy whipping cream and more chicken broth than milk. I also used Swiss Chard instead of Kale. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States