Sausage, Potato and Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I subbed hot turkey Italian sausage, omitted the pepper flakes, and used Yukon gold potatoes. These were my only alterations from the recipe. As far as the directions go, my potatoes were done in 15 minutes, and I did not add any milk or half and half until the end of the cooking, when I allowed them to heat through, but not boil. This has an amazing aroma as it cooks, and it is a hearty, satisfying soup. Do not be concerned by the lack of added salt, because the broth and sausage are salty enough to flavor the whole batch. DH and DS approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I have made this soup but not from this EXACT recipe. It's pretty much the same, except I added a lot more kale. Like the other reviewer, I wouldn't add the milk/half & half til after the potatoes and kale have cooked. It would curdle and I'm always a clutz on the stove top with boiling (I have a 2 yo, that helps distract me :) Love that I'm getting all the vitamins and yumminess in one bowl! Hubby could have done without the kale, but he also would eat bacon by the pound if he could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cappy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This was fantastic! I followed the recipe and it was great. So far I've made it three times since. Once I used those round red potatoes. It was delicious. Another time, I only had 2% milk and regular chicken broth. Still delicious. Last month, I stuffed as much kale as my Dutch oven could handle...still wonderful. This is my absolute favorite recipe. You can add little things or leave as-is and you create a wonderfully, comfort soup. Next time I'll add a picture. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I am not a vegan, but live with one. I made this vegan style a few times using: a very rich homemade veggie broth, vegan style sausage ( I liked the patties that I crumbled the best, I'm not sure if I can use brand names), and at the end a dash of whatever protein beverage we had around e.g. soy, almond, coconut, rice, etc. type milk's. As I said I am not a vegan, but thoroughly enjoyed it vegan style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I liked the basis of this recipe, but the flavor was not there. I added fresh chopped basil, paprika and most of all...SALT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Wow-Spicy! I will make it again, but definitely without the red pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Great, hearty soup! I made a few revisions though. I sauteed a whole, chopped onion and some garlic in the pot, then added broth, potatoes, and chopped celery. I let the potatoes cook while I cooked spicy italian sausage on the side. I skipped the red pepper flakes because the sausage was spicy enough for my taste. After about 15 minutes, I added the sausage and tons of kale to the pot. I seasoned with salt, pepper, oregano, and a little garlic powder (what can I say? I really like garlic!). I also added about 2 cups of whole milk and let the whole pot simmer until the kale was tender. Awesome! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I made this soup today and it was fabulous. I didn't have half and half so I substituted heavy whipping cream and more chicken broth than milk. I also used Swiss Chard instead of Kale. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I just fixed this and it is sooooo YUMMO!!! I did take the advice in other reviews and add the dairy and the kale in the last few mins. Oh and I did sauté the onions as well as some mushrooms in with the sausage a few mins before I added the chicken broth and potatoes!!! Can go wrong with this soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This soup is great and I've been making this for twenty five years. I don't use ground sausage, but use Kielbasa Sausage and use more kale than indicated. My family loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat5145
Living In: Mill Creek, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States