Sausage Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I think the baking temperature is incorrect - try 400. The sausage itself needs a few more spices for us. They were OK but not as delicious as they could have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I enjoyed the taste and they are easy to make. I used 1/2 an onion and added some dried sage. The only thing I was not happy about was the pastry didn't puff in the oven, it was a bit heavy. I think I might try to refrigerator the sliced rolls before I cook them, maybe if the butter in the pastry is cool it will puff better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This recipe is so easy and impressive. I've made it numerous times and always get asked for the recipe. delicious. I made it the first time using parsley, but tried sage the next time. I have to admit the sage was a personal preference and we liked it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Just a big mess....and not very tasty either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
I had several problems with this recipe. One half of a 17.5 oz. pkg. of puff pastry IS one 8x12 sheet, at least in the Pepperidge Farm variety. So the recipe should actually call for 1 pkg., not 1/2 pkg if there is supposed to be enough filling for two rolls. (Good thing I tried this out before my party, as I had already committed the other sheet of pastry to a baked Brie!) Because of the concerns about greasiness mentioned in a previous review, I baked my pinwheels on a cookie rack placed on my baking tray so they might drain a little during baking, which seemed to help. They definitely benefit from draining on paper towels after baking, and also from the ginger apricot dipping sauce I made to with them. And 300 degrees for 20 minutes? No way - try 375 for 25 minutes instead. (The recipes that came w/ the puff pastry all called for 375-400, anyway.) These pinwheels came out about 3 inches in diameter (quite a bit larger than "appetizer bites"), and that was starting with the longer edge when they were rolled up. They would have been even larger had I started rolling at the short edge. The puff pastry in the center of the pinwheels was a bit soggy, too. Next time, I will cut the 8x12 down to 6x8. (It wouldn't hurt to reduce the amount of sausage to 12 oz. either, which is the most convenient size pkg. available.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
I was disappointed in this recipe. It took much longer to brown that I had thought and they were so greasy... maybe it was the brand of sausage I used, but I don't think I'll be making this again anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
Tried it and loved it! Could serve with a side salad for a complete meal. Excellent job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States