Sausage, Pepper, and Onion Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Easy and delicious! I browned the sausage first as the recipe states but didn't reserve the pan drippings as I felt the sausage itself was greasy enough. The only thing I changed about the sauce was to use minced garlic vs. garlic powder. When it was done I served it on toasted hoagie rolls and topped it off with shredded Parmesan and Romano cheese. Very good and very filling - definitely makes enough for a crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I didn't have whole stewed tomatoes so I used a can of crushed; cut the recipe down to 5 servings for my package of 5 links. I really thought this was wonderful . I didn't cook this for as long as recipe stated, I cooked for 3 hours and by then my peppers were pretty much boiled down to mush. This made for a delicious sauce but you'll have to add sliced peppers during the last 1-2 hours if you want any resemblence of them left. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This is a good and easy recipe for sausage sandwiches. We ate half and I froze the rest. My huband loves these. We had a tossed salad on the side.Now I just have to buy fresh buns for the next time. Thanks for good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Be sure you drain the grease from the sausage but keep the dark drippings and add to the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I did not cook it with the sausages nearly as long as it called for in the sauce because I made it with 10 italian links..5 mild, 5 hot.. And melted a little provolone atop before serving....YUMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I don't eat these, my husband does. I made all of this and put it in the crock pot for a few hours. He loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peytonl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I used a jar of spaghetti sauce and it was a quick, easy and tasty meal. Also cooked up some angel hair pasta as a side dish to use the rest of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I really was being sincere. This is a good recipe. I don't know why my review was deleted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Family loved it. Used half recipe and cooked for just 3 hrs on low in crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jr911

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Great recipe, Thanks! Felt like a mobster, like that scene in "Goodfellas" where they're making sausage & peppers in prison...LOL Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank-O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Sausage and Pepper Pizza

See how to make a quick-and-easy sausage pizza on the grill.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Italian Sausage Grinder

See how to make a classic Italian sausage grinder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States